Potato Salad, & Dinner at Mom’s

So last Sunday my mom invited Normy and I over for dinner! YAY! My Brother was going to smoke some ribs with my dad’s smoker and my mom was going to make her cucumber, tomato salad (that I LOVE).  So I offered to make potato salad and then cupcakes for dessert…I ALWAYS offer to bring more than I should, But that is how I roll…

So for my potato salad I got a 5 pound bag of red potatoes. My brother is 6′ 5″ and he eats a lot. So I had to make a lot of salad for him.
DSC_0055-1

Throw the potatoes in a big pot
DSC_0058-1

and fill it with water, (make sure the pot is big enough so that all the potatoes fit and are submerged in the water).
DSC_0059-1

DSC_0060-1

Then place the pot on a burner and turn up to medium high heat
DSC_0062-1

I added a little salt to the water as well.

I boiled the potatoes for about 30 minutes and I poked them with a fork and the bigger ones weren’t quite fork tender, so I boiled them for another 15 minutes…

Then while the potatoes were boiling I got the eggs boiling too.  I got a medium-sized pot and filled it with water and very gently placed 8 eggs in the pot and brought it to a boil and boiled for 25 minutes
DSC_0071-1

Once the eggs are done, I drain them and then place them in a boil and fill it with cold water and place in the fridge. I have done this a few times and it seems to help when peeling them. The shells come off easier. So I leave them in the fridge for about an hour or so.

Once the potatoes are done, drain them and let them dry for a few and chop them up when you are able to handle them. Chop them into bite size pieces and plop them into a big bowl.
DSC_0104-1

You could peel the skin off or leave it on the potatoes, I left it on. Chop all potatoes up.
DSC_0106-1

Then you can start adding the veggies. dice up 2 stalks of celery
DSC_0108-1

Then peel and dice up two carrots
DSC_0110-1

Then dice up one large red/purple onion
DSC_0111-1

Then peel the 8 eggs that you put in the fridge earlier
DSC_0113-1

Chop those up and add them to the big bowl as well
DSC_0115-1

Then add in salt and Pepper
DSC_0125-1

then get another medium-sized bowl and to that you are going to add in Miracle Whip, about 2 cups. (My mom makes her potato salad with miracle whip and I do too, tastes better to me)
DSC_0117-1

then add it about 2 tbsp of grainy mustard
DSC_0118-1

DSC_0119-1

Then add in some yellow mustard
DSC_0120-1

I just went with it and did this all on taste
DSC_0121-1

Then get a ranch packet and add that to the bowl as well
DSC_0122-1

DSC_0123-1

DSC_0124-1

Mix everything together
DSC_0128-1

Then add to the potatoes and veggies in the big bowl
DSC_0131-1

DSC_0133-001

and mix everything together really well
DSC_0136-1

once everything is well incorporated, sprinkle a generous amount of paprika over the top
DSC_0138-1

Looks and tastes SO good!
DSC_0140-1

Then cover the bowl
DSC_0141-1

and refrigerate it over night for best results.

Then the next day pack it up and bring it to mom’s house…

My bro likes to cook too. He came up with this concoction…
DSC_0151-1

This has JAMIE written all over it, and he said he made it up with me in mind…

It has:
smoked BACON
Onions
red bell pepper
mushrooms
garlic
Worcestershire sauce
splash of balsamic vinegar
pepper
He knows his sis toooo well! (I had three helpings of this) I will be making this in the near future with steak!

DSC_0154-1

John stirring his John concoction
DSC_0173-1

Normy and My bro. John is 6′ 5″, one tall dude
DSC_0174-1

My big bro
DSC_0175-1

You know I had to get a picture of me and my bro
DSC_0176-1

Then mom was making her cucumber salad. She makes hers like her mom and I LOVE the way my mom makes it:

Fill a bowl with white vinegar and a little sugar, and peeled and sliced cucumbers
DSC_0152-1

then add onions
DSC_0155-1

then add tomatoes
DSC_0156-1

Stir together
DSC_0158-1

add salt and black pepper
DSC_0162-1

DSC_0163-1

stir some more then set in fridge to let the flavors mingle. It’s better to do this salad the night before as well.
DSC_0165-1

These two people met, fell in love and did it and made ME! They created perfection between the two of them! ME! hahahahaha
DSC_0181-1

Mom’s Deviled eggs, I make mine the same way she makes hers!
DSC_0183-1

smoked ribs and pork my bro smoked for us
DSC_0184-1

DSC_0186-1

my bro can EAT! Look at his plate! And he doesn’t gain a pound!
DSC_0190-1

Mom’s cucumber salad
DSC_0191-1

Jamie Potato Salad
DSC_0195-1

Normy eating some smoked ribs!
DSC_0196-1

DSC_0198-1

What a great way to spend a sunday!

 

One thought on “Potato Salad, & Dinner at Mom’s

  1. Pingback: Ode to Salads | Crazy Jamie's Blog

Leave a Reply

