Cauliflower “Mashed Potatoes”

Ever had cauliflower potatoes? Not potatoes….But instead of using potatoes you use cauliflower and it tastes like mashed potatoes, only better for you! Well if you haven’t, you should try it! So here we go, How I made cauliflower wanna be mashed potatoes.

side note – cauliflower is stinky!

So take one head of cauliflower
DSC_0052-1

and wash it and take the leaves and bottom stem part off and cut it up and add to a pot of water, enough for the cauliflower to swim around in and get soft
DSC_0054-1

DSC_0056-1

then place the pot of water on a burner and turn the burner to high heat and boil the cauliflower

I boiled mine for about 15-20 minutes. I just kept poking the bigger pieces with a fork until they were nice and tender
DSC_0068-1

Then drain the cauliflower in a strainer
DSC_0083-1

then place the cauliflower in a food processor, I did this in two batches
DSC_0084-1

I added a little butter
DSC_0085-1

and I added in a little Cajun seasoning (of course) to taste
DSC_0087-1

and then I purred the cauliflower, I also added a little milk too so that it helped to break up the bigger chucks of cauliflower and loosen everything up.
DSC_0093-1

then purred it again
until it was nice and smooth
You may need to add more milk, but just keep purring it till its nice and smooth
DSC_0094-1

I placed both batches in a medium saucepan and added a little bit more butter and turned burner to medium low heat
DSC_0096-1

Then I added in a little greek yogurt and better than bullion (chicken flavor) for a little more flavoring and saltines
DSC_0097-1

Then I added in salt and pepper and chives, to taste
DSC_0098-1

stir all that together and let it warm up and taste it for seasoning and adjust if needed
DSC_0107-1

Then serve the cauliflower “potatoes” up nice and hot
DSC_0116-1

I sprinkled a little more chives over my cauliflower

They look just like mashed potatoes don’t they!? I think they taste like them too!

Here is that recipe again for you…

So take one cauliflower head

And wash it and take the leaves and bottom stem part off and cut it up and add to a pot of with water, enough for the cauliflower to swim around in and get soft

Then place the pot of water on a burner and turn the burner to high heat and boil the cauliflower

I boiled mine for about 15-20 minutes. I just kept poking the bigger pieces with a fork until they were nice and tender

Then drain the cauliflower in a strainer

Then place the cauliflower in a food processor, I did this in two batches

I added a little butter

And I added in a little Cajun seasoning (of course) to taste

And then I purred the cauliflower, and I added a little milk too so that it helped to break up the bigger chucks of cauliflower and loosen everything up.

Then purred it again
until it was nice and smooth
you may need to add more milk, but just keep purring it till it’s nice and smooth

I placed both batches in a medium saucepan and added a little bit more butter and turned burner to medium low heat

Then I added in a little Greek yogurt and better than bouillon (chicken flavor) for a little more flavoring and saltines

Then I added in salt and pepper and chives, to taste

Stir all that together and let it warm up and taste it for seasoning and adjust if needed

Then serve the cauliflower “potatoes” up nice and hot

I sprinkled a little more chives over my cauliflower

They look just like mashed potatoes don’t they!? I think they taste like them too!

2 thoughts on “Cauliflower “Mashed Potatoes”

Leave a Reply

