Nutella Wontons

I got this Recipe from  Steamy Kitchen, but she used chocolate. I was going to use chocolate. But had to do it different. So someone suggested using Nutella…So I went with that. I have never had, or tried Nutella until I made this recipe…It’s damn good stuff, and these are damn good wontons. The crunchy from the wonton the chocolatey, hazelnut flavor from the Nutella and then top it off with powdered sugar = Heaven!

1 egg
1 tablespoon water
12 wonton wrappers, defrosted (keep wrappers covered with damp towel)
1/2 Tablespoon of Nutella

Vegetable oil
Confectioners’ sugar, for sprinkling

In a small bowl, whisk together the egg and water to make an egg wash. On a clean, dry surface, lay one wrapper down with a point toward you, like a diamond. Place 1/2 tablespoon of Nutella near the top end of the wrapper. Brush a very thin layer of the egg wash on the edges of the wrapper. Fold the bottom corner of the wrapper up to create a triangle and gently press to remove all air from the middle. Press the edges to adhere the sides. Make sure the wrapper is sealed completely. Repeat with the remaining wrappers. Keep the folded Nutella wontons covered under plastic wrap or a damp paper towel to prevent them from drying.

In a wok or medium pot, pour in two inches of oil. Heat the oil to 350°F (180°C) and gently slide a few of the Nutella wontons into the hot oil. Make sure you don’t crowd the wontons too much. Fry 1 1/2 minutes, then flip and fry another minute until both sides are golden brown and crisp.

Tangy BBQ Turkey Meatballs

with every recipe I have to make it Jamie style! I always have to add my own little twist! Even when I am not thinking about it I do it! In this Recipe I added in Bacon and red Onion…I would add bacon to everything! I LOVE, LOVE, LOOOOOOOVE, LOOOOOOOOVE Bacon!

FOR THE MEATBALLS:

  • 1 pound Ground Turkey
  • 1 cup Breadcrumbs
  • 1 Tablespoon Black Pepper
  • 1 teaspoon Oregano
  • 1 teaspoon Basil
  • 1 Tablespoon Garlic, Minced

  • FOR THE SAUCE:
  • 1 cup Ketchup
  • ½ cups BBQ Sauce
  • 1 teaspoon Mustard
  • 1 teaspoon Worcestershire Sauce
  • 1 teaspoon Brown Sugar
  • 1 teaspoon Sugar

For meatballs:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Combine ground turkey, breadcrumbs, black pepper, oregano, basil, and garlic, and mix well. Form into golf-ball-sized meatballs and place in a greased baking pan. Bake for 20 – 25 minutes, until browned and cooked through.

For sauce:

Mix all sauce ingredients well in a small bowl. Place meatballs and sauce in a saucepan over medium low heat. Mix well and keep warm until ready to serve.

 

I didn’t dip the meatballs in the sauce like it states in the recipe. I took a spoonful of the sauce and spooned it over the top of the meatball…that way i could put as much as I wanted over them…

Turkey and Ham Sandwiches

My first job was making sandwiches…just thought I would share that with you all.

Recipe

  • 1  tablespoon  light mayonnaise
  • 1  teaspoon  Dijon mustard
  • 8  (1-ounce) slices country white bread (I used wheat bread)
  • 4  (1-ounce) slices deli, lower-salt turkey breast
  • 4  (1/2-ounce) slices deli, lower-salt ham
  • 4  (1/2-ounce) slices reduced-fat cheddar cheese
  • 8  (1/4-inch-thick) slices tomato
  • Cooking spray

1. Combine mayonnaise and mustard in a small bowl. Spread about 1 teaspoon mayonnaise mixture over 1 side of each of 4 bread slices. Top each slice with 1 turkey slice, 1 ham slice, 1 cheese slice, and 2 tomato slices. Top with remaining bread slices.

2. Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Coat pan with cooking spray. Add sandwiches to pan; cook 4 minutes or until lightly browned. Turn sandwiches over; cook 2 minutes or until cheese melts. ( I didn’t heat mine)

Mushroom Barley Soup

I got this recipe from a book my father in law Jim got…Was looking through it and my hubby thought this soup sounded the best. So we asked Jim to make us a copy and I made the soup for Norman…What is funny is I made this soup on a Monday. Which would have been great for Meatless Monday, if I *did* do that. I made Ham and Turkey Sandwiches to go with it because we needed some MEAT!

This Recipe calls for 12 oz of mushrooms. I added in 32 oz. I Love, love, love (did I say love) Mushrooms! How can one love a fungus as much as I do, ewwww. But I do! I also added in mini Portobello mushrooms and Norman/Normy (I have many nicknames for my hubby)  likes those and I like the button mushrooms…or shrooms as we call them in our house aka apartment.

I believe the recipe came from this Book page 36