French Onion Soup Stuffed Mushrooms

Found this recipe and HAD to make it! (It seems like I say that about every recipe I make)…Well this recipe calls for 2 of my favorite things that I LOVE to eat, Mushrooms and Onions! I eat Mushrooms 2-3 times a week and I add onions to everything. Onions are like Garlic to me, you HAVE to add them to everything you make! So much flavor!!! Oh and (of course) I had to make this recipe because its from The Pioneer Woman!

 Recipe 

  • 2 Tablespoons Butter
  • 2 whole Large Onions, Halved And Sliced Thin (I diced mine into small pieces instead)
  • ¼ cups Beef Broth
  • 7 dashes Worcestershire Sauce
  • Splash Of Red Or White Wine <<<<< Wine!
  • (I also added in a splash of Sherry too)
  • ½ cups Grated Gruyere Cheese (can Use Swiss)
  • Kosher Salt
  • 24 whole White Or Crimini Mushrooms, Washed And Stems Removed (I used both kinds)

In a medium skillet, melt 1 tablespoon butter over medium heat. Add onions and saute for 15 to 20 minutes, stirring occasionally, until very soft.

Splash in wine, broth, and Worcestershire (I also added in a splash of sherry) . Cook for another 5 minutes, or until liquid is cooked down. Set aside.

Melt 1 tablespoon butter in a large skillet over medium heat. Throw in mushrooms and toss around for 2 minutes, just to start the cooking process. Sprinkle mushrooms with salt.

Place mushroom caps face up in a baking dish. Heap cavity with sautéed onions, then sprinkle Gruyere over the top. Bake at 10 minutes on 325 degrees. Turn on broiler and broil for a couple of minutes, until the top of the Gruyere starts to bubble and slightly turn brown.

Leave a comment