Lime and Green Onion Rice

I would have to say that my least favorite chef on The Food Network would have to be Rachael Ray…she just annoys me! I think her recipes are ok, I mean they are great for people who are pressed for time, or need something good, quick, because her meals only take 30 minutes. I can’t watch her, she just annoys the heck out of me! Her voice, her 100’s of hand gestures. Who uses their hands that much when they talk? her! and I hate how she renamed Olive oil to EVOO…I just really have nothing nice to say about her. So I will stop there with how I dislike her! Some people think she is just so great. I am not one of them!

But I did make this recipe by her and it was pretty good…

  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1 1/4 cups light brown rice or white rice
  • 2 limes, zested, 1 lime, juiced

  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • 3 to 4 thin scallions, whites and greens, chopped

Heat the oil in sauce pot over medium to medium-high heat. Stir in the rice and toast for 1 minute.

Add the lime zest

and stock, bring to a boil. Reduce the heat and simmer, covered, for 18 minutes. Add the green onions and the juice of 1 lime. Fluff with fork, transfer to a serving bowl and serve.

I like to put my rice in this little dish because it makes it look pretty and its 1 cup, so it helps portion control as well!

9 thoughts on “Lime and Green Onion Rice

  1. You’re harshing my buzz, dissing Rache like this. OK, so she was soooo 2008, but she is still hot. She encouraged people to cook, and that’s a good thing. Also? Hot. Sometimes, not particularly now, but frequently.

    All that said, this sounds pretty good!

    1. she is SO NOT hot! Ewwwww! She did encouraged people to cook yay for her. But she is still annoying! Her rice was good, he food is good too, but shes still annoying and not hot!

  2. all I did was type “green onion” into google (looking for something totally different) and I saw the link for this awesome sounding dish. I can’t wait to try it out. I’ll be using veggie stock instead of chicken stock…and I’ll try out the tuna recipe too. seared tuna – ahhhhhhh
    Thanks for posting such great photos too – big big help.

  3. Have you tried to make larger batches of this recipe? I would like to make it for around 30 people and was wondering if it was a simple as multiplying the ingredients.. Maybe not the oil, but everything else.. Any help is greatly appreciated…

Leave a Reply

