Asparagus with Lemon Juice and Mrs. Dash

Asparagus

Asparagus

1 bundle of Asparagus
1 tablespoon Olive Oil
Juice of 2 lemons
tablespoon of Mrs. Dash seasoning (original blend)
 
Clean Asparagus, Cut Ends off Heat Skillet to med, Med Hi Drizzle 1 Tablespoon Olive oil into pan
Add asparagus, and squeeze lemon juice over asparagus
Sprinkle Mrs. Dash seasoning over Asparagus
Cook until Tender but with a Little crunch to it, Flipping a few times, so cooks on all sides. (about 10 minutes).
 
Dinner is served!

Dinner

Key Lime Pie

Normy loves Key Lime pie! He has said to me a few times that he wanted a Key Lime Pie. So he had a bad day yesterday, so I decided to surprise him and make him one…am I a good wifey or what!?!?!? Yep I sure is!!!

P1630813-1
Normy and Me

Recipe

Crust:
5 tablespoons butter, melted
1-1/2 cup graham cracker crumbs
1/2 cup slivered almonds

1 (14-ounce) can sweetened condensed milk
1/2 cup Key lime juice
P1630903-1
(I squeezed what felt like 100 of these little limes to get 1/2 a cup of key lime juice)
2 teaspoons grated lime zest
2 eggs, separated
1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar
1/4 cup sugar

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

For the crust, combine ingredients and pat down into a 9-inch pie pan. Bake for 5 to 10 minutes.
P1630902-1

In a medium bowl, combine the milk, lime juice, and 1 teaspoon zest; blend in the egg yolks. Pour the filling into the crust.
P1630909-1

P1630912-1

For the meringue, beat the egg whites with the cream of tartar until soft peaks form. Gradually beat in the sugar and remaining teaspoon zest until the mixture is stiff.
P1630915-1

Spread the meringue over the filling; spread it to touch the edge of the crust all around. Bake for 12 to 15 minutes, or until the meringue is golden brown.
P1630917-1

P1630918-1

P1630922-1

Key Lime Pie

P1630953-1

Key Lime Pie

Key Lime Pie

Key Lime Pie

Herb Potato Salad

I love Ina Garten, The Barefoot Contessa. She is my favorite chef on The Food Network. She’s snooty, but I cook like her. I use a lot of the same ingredients as her. I also like how she doesn’t talk about stupid stuff (like Rachael Ray) when she cooks. She just get’s right to it! I want her kitchen on her show too! I love her recipes. She makes a lot of recipes that I like and I have actually made. Don’t think I have tried one I didn’t like! She’s also a lush! Normy always likes to see what drink she is making next. The only thing I don’t like is that she doesn’t like cilantro! How can you NOT like cilantro!!! She taught me to sift flour and dry ingredients when baking and to always crack eggs in a bowl by themselves incase you get a bad one or get shells in the bowl.

This Potato salad is so freaking good. I went back 3 times for more. I like that there is no may-o in this recipe and it has WINE! Wine in any recipe makes it good (to me)! I am defiantly making this for a BBQ for the summer! It’s so fresh and crisp…Oh and did I mention it has wine in it!

Recipe

P1630939-1

3 pounds small white boiling potatoes
Kosher salt
2 tablespoons good dry white wine
2 tablespoons chicken stock
2 tablespoons lemon juice
2 garlic cloves, minced
1/2 teaspoon Dijon mustard
Freshly ground black pepper
2/3 cup good olive oil
1/4 cup red onion, finely diced
2 tablespoons chopped fresh tarragon
2 tablespoons chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley

Place the potatoes and 2 tablespoons salt in a large pot of water. Bring the water to a boil, then lower the heat and simmer for 10 to 15 minutes, until the potatoes are barely tender when pierced with a knife. Drain the potatoes in a colander, then place the colander with the potatoes over the empty pot off the heat and cover with a clean, dry kitchen towel. Leave the potatoes to steam for 15 to 20 minutes, until tender but firm.

Meanwhile, in a small bowl, whisk together the wine, chicken stock, lemon juice, garlic, mustard, 2 teaspoons salt and 3/4 teaspoon pepper. Slowly whisk in the olive oil to make an emulsion. Set aside.

When the potatoes are cool enough to handle, cut them into quarters or halves, depending on their size. Place the cut potatoes in a large bowl and pour enough dressing over them to moisten. (As the salad sits, you may need to add more dressing.) Add the onion, tarragon and parsley, and salt and pepper to taste. Toss well, cover, and refrigerate for a few hours to allow the flavors to blend. Serve cold or at room temperature.

P1630940-1

P1630941-1

Pork Tenderloin with Chimichurri

I’m not a big fan of Pork. I’m trying to get over it. I love me some Pork Roast the way Normy’s family makes it, but any other way I just don’t care for it. I bought some pork chops once and got some really bad food poisoning. Laying on the bathroom floor because every time I got up I would run back to puke. Not a good experience. So ever since then I’ve had issues with pork. But Normy loves it, so I am trying to just get over it. I do like Pork Tenderloin, but forget Pork Chops, don’t think I will ever be able to eat them again. Check back in a few years…

Recipe

Chimichurri:

6 garlic cloves, peeled and minced
2 jalapeno, seeded and minced
1/4 cup red wine vinegar
About 1/2 cup finely chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley
About 1/2 cup finely chopped fresh oregano leaves
3 limes, juiced
1 cup extra-virgin olive oil
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1 teaspoon whole black peppercorns

(I used some of the ingredients from another recipe I’ve used that I really liked)

P1630932-1

pork tenderloin (about 1 pound) trimmed of excess fat, patted dry
Kosher salt
Freshly ground black pepper
Extra-virgin olive oil
Lime juice, for drizzling
Parsley sprigs, for garnish

Combine the garlic, jalapeno and vinegar in a bowl. Stir in the parsley, oregano, and lime juice. Whisk in the olive oil and season with salt and pepper. Mix well and set aside at room temperature to allow the flavors to marry. (I put everything in a food processor and chopped it and mixed it that way)

Reserve 1/2 cup of the chimichurri to serve and marinate the pork in the rest. Put the pork and marinade in a sealable plastic bag and set aside in the refrigerator for 30 minutes.

Preheat an outdoor charcoal grill or oven broiler to high.

Remove the pork from the marinade, wiping off any excess. Season both sides with a generous amount of salt and pepper. Drizzle with olive oil and place on the grill. Grill the pork on the hottest part of the barbecue for 4 minutes per side, until well charred. Allow the tenderloin to rest for about 5 minutes prior to slicing. Spoon some chimichurri over the meat, drizzle with lime juice, garnish with parsley, and serve with the remaining sauce at the table.

P1630937-1

P1630942-1

P1630944-1