Penne with vodka, wine sauce

Well right now I am into vodka sauces… and so I made a Penne with Vodka Sauce last Friday and well I wanted it again this Friday but I added some new things in with it this time…I just kind of made this sauce up myself…and I think it was better than what I made the last time.

Box of Penne Pasta (I used whole wheat)

Olive oil

1 whole onion, chopped

2 Garlic Cloves, diced

teaspoon red pepper flakes (or more if you like it spicy)

2 pounds of Mushrooms, washed and sliced ( you could use less, I used a LOT because I LOVE mushrooms)
P1660690-1

1/2 cup white wine

1/2 cup of Vodka

28 oz can chopped tomatoes

1 cup heavy cream

1 cup shredded Parmesan cheese and more for topping

fresh basil, and fresh Parsley to Taste, and Topping

Salt and Pepper to taste

Start by boiling a pot of salted water and follow the directions on the box on how to prepare penne pasta

Then take a large skillet and heat burner to med high heat and coat the bottom with olive oil, add sliced mushrooms. You could use less mushrooms, but because I LOVE them I used a TON.

Then preheat another burner with a dutch oven, or deep pot and coat the bottom with olive oil. Add onions, and cook 5-7 minutes until tender then add garlic and red pepper flakes and sauté another 1-2 minutes until you really start to smell the garlic.

Don’t forget to stir those mushrooms until they are cooked through (when I sauté mushrooms I like to almost burn them, as I think it adds a really great flavor to them) Once the mushrooms are cooked set them aside.

Add vodka to onions and garlic, as well as the white wine and stir, then add tomatoes and salt and pepper to taste and stir until the alcohol cooks off I cooked mine for about 10 minutes.

Then add in heavy cream and stir some more than let sauce simmer for about 10 minutes more until it thickens a little.

Then stir in mushrooms and then stir in parmesan and basil and simmer until cheese is melted.
P1660692-1
P1660694-1

Then add Penne to the sauce and stir. Season more with salt and pepper and cheese if you need to.
P1660696-1
P1660697-1
Serve with Chopped fresh parsley and more shredded parmesan cheese.
P1660698-1
P1660699-1
P1660700-1
(I also added some Sriracha on the side and a little drizzle of soy sauce and it made this dish even more fabulous)

You could also add shrimp to this or chicken and it would be fabulous! (could also add spinach too)

One thought on “Penne with vodka, wine sauce

Leave a Reply

