Lemon Chicken Thighs

Today was not a good day for me. If I would have known my day was going to go like it did, I would have stayed at home in bed not even bother with today. Not going to get into it cause well its done and over with and come on does anyone really care? Not really! Just not a good day…But I still cooked, seemed to be the only good thing about my day and being with my Normy. I hate Mondays! After a great weekend then there comes that damn Monday and I am reminded yet again I am unemployed and am not earning my way in the world, not holding up my end of the deal. Some days I just feel so pathetic and I am getting sick of hearing oh the right job will come along. Really?!?! Will it? WHEN!? I am so beyond frustrated and some days I just need a friend there and there’s no one around but my evil thoughts. Damn those thoughts I wish they had an off button.

I had onions fall on me today… yes onions (one of the MANY bad things that happened to me) I went to the grocery store and I pulled one from the top and they all came down on me, I got onioned…I could see if I took one from the middle, but no sir I took one from the top and here they all come…UGH! So tomorrow better be a better day that’s all I have to say! I do like Tuesdays as its workout with April day. I workout with my friend April every Tuesday. I have known April since High School. Shes a life long friend. One good thing about being unemployed is that I get to workout with her on Tuesdays. Always nice to have a workout buddy, She said to me one day that she wanted to workout with me because she wanted to look like me…One of the best compliments ever! So I push her and she pushes me and we show each other new moves and catch up on whats going on in our lives and its a great addition to my week. Heck its my favorite day of the week, Tuesdays with April!

Look at the picture of us in high school! (we were going to homecoming)!
Me and April in High School going to Homecoming
us now

P1570586-1

OK let’s get to cooking!

Recipe

1/4 cup good olive oil
3 tablespoons minced garlic (9 cloves)
1/3 cup dry white wine
1 tablespoon grated lemon zest (2 lemons)
P1670142-1
2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
1 1/2 teaspoons dried oregano
1 teaspoon minced fresh thyme leaves
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
4 boneless chicken breasts, skin on (6 to 8 ounces each) (I used thighs instead)
1 lemon

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

Warm the olive oil in a small saucepan over medium-low heat, add the garlic, and cook for just 1 minute
P1670144-1
but don’t allow the garlic to turn brown. Off the heat, add the white wine, lemon zest, lemon juice,
P1670146-1
oregano, thyme, and 1 teaspoon salt and pour into a 9 by 12-inch baking dish.

Pat the chicken breasts dry and place them skin side up over the sauce. Brush the chicken breasts with olive oil and sprinkle them liberally with salt and pepper. Cut the lemon in 4 wedges and tuck it among the pieces of chicken.
P1670148-1
P1670149-1
Bake for 30 to 40 minutes, depending on the size of the chicken breasts, until the chicken is done and the skin is lightly browned. If the chicken isn’t browned enough, put it under the broiler for 2 minutes. Cover the pan tightly with aluminum foil and allow to rest for 10 minutes. Sprinkle with salt and serve hot with the pan juices.
P1670155-1
P1670156-1

Dinner is served!
P1670166-1

2 thoughts on “Lemon Chicken Thighs

  1. Oh my these look great. I loves me some chicken thighs.
    You and April…so cute…back then and today. So nice to have a dear friend like that.
    Mondays…they are evil. I’ve never been onioned but I’ve been canned with beans from a high shelf. Dang beans were after me. When I have a Monday like you did…I tend to drop everything, and bump into furniture…just to add to the pain.
    Thank goodness for Tuesdays! Let me reassure you, you are contributing to the universe! My universe anyway! I look forward to your blog every day.
    I hope Normie is feeling better.

Leave a Reply

