French Potato Salad

I try to make potato salads without using may-o or miracle whip. (better for you) I don’t use may-o in my potato salad, I like it with Miracle whip. Most people at this point are saying ewwww as most people I know use may-o for there potato salad. Well my mom and her mom both used miracle whip and I use it too. I also use miracle whip for my deviled eggs. I think may-o gives deviled eggs no flavor. Miracle whip has more zing. I also use miracle whip in my egg salad. yep I am all about being different! BUT I like May-o on my sandwiches can’t stand miracle whip, and I use may-o for a lot of sauces…

So I was thinking (since its getting nicer outside) tonight and actually the past few days that I can NOT wait to go hiking again! heck I would like to try to do one this coming weekend if it is nice outside! I LOOOOOVE To hike! LOVE IT! Since I had knee surgery a couple of years ago it has thrown me off. So I would really like to get back into it! and one of the hikes I WILL DO this year is hanging lake! I wanted to go last year and well we ran out of time, the year before I couldn’t cause thats when I messed my knee up. So this year will be the year! You will understand why when you take a look at this:
Hanging Lake3
Hanging Lake2
Hanging lake
Another Hike we did in Rocky Mountain National Park
Great view
Chicago Lakes
P1170998
P1170934
P1170849
Our 1st 14er Grey’s
P1190238
P1190217
a sunburn at 14,000 feet
we got too much sun!

OK, OK, I could be here all day sharing pictures with you! We have done so many hikes and I can’t wait to do more! You see we have to hike so that we can eat the yummy food we make!

recipe

1 pound small white boiling potatoes
1 pound small red boiling potatoes
2 tablespoons good dry white wine
2 tablespoons chicken stock
3 tablespoons Champagne vinegar
1/2 teaspoon Dijon mustard
2 teaspoons kosher salt
3/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
10 tablespoons olive oil
1/4 cup minced scallions (white and green parts)
2 tablespoons minced fresh dill
2 tablespoons minced flat-leaf parsley
2 tablespoons julienned fresh basil leaves

Drop the white and red potatoes into a large pot of boiling salted water and cook for 20 to 30 minutes, until they are just cooked through. Drain in a colander and place a towel over the potatoes to allow them to steam for 10 more minutes. As soon as you can handle them, cut in 1/2 (quarters if the potatoes are larger) and place in a medium bowl. Toss gently with the wine and chicken stock. Allow the liquids to soak into the warm potatoes before proceeding.

Combine the vinegar, mustard, 1/2 teaspoon salt, and 1/4 teaspoon pepper and slowly whisk in the olive oil to make an emulsion.

P1670191-1
Add the vinaigrette to the potatoes.
P1670192-1
Add the scallions, dill,
P1670194-1
P1670201-1
parsley, basil, 1 1/2 teaspoons salt, and 1/2 teaspoon pepper and toss. Serve warm or at room temperature.
P1670206-1
P1670205-1

One thought on “French Potato Salad

Leave a Reply

