Basil Chicken in Coconut Curry Sauce Recipe

I just wanted to send a thank you out there in the world. I know people read this blog and look at my recipes! I read all your comments and I read the stats of how many look at my blog a day! I’ve had people send me emails thanking me for my recipes and photos. I love the compliments! When I talk to peeps they say to me “oh man I saw that recipe you posted last night and I am making it today” As you all know I am an open book. I pretty much tell my life on this blog. I have nothing to hide and I am sure I have said TMI, Heck I know I do! (That’s me)  Whenever I post on here I have it linked to my Facebook and so people on my Facebook comment on my posts and recipes and say they are going to try this recipe, or that recipe, and I love hearing it! LOVE IT! Makes me feel so good! What can I say its been tough these last 11 months with being unemployed. So right now sometimes all I have to look forward to is posting recipes on here. After a day of looking for a job its nice to post a recipe and pictures on here for people to see and hopefully it makes their day better, because it makes me happy to do it!  Cooking is my world.

On that note, here’s another recipe for you!

I am sorry to say, but I didn’t much enjoy this dish, but I will post is as someone else might find it good. I don’t really like cinnamon in my food. I don’t like cinnamon buns (can you believe that) and I think I didn’t like the dish because of the cinnamon and I don’t really care for the coconut milk…But maybe you might like this dish more than me, so I will post it anyway…

What you need:
P1680892-1

1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground coriander
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground cardamom
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/4 teaspoon chili powder
1/4 teaspoon turmeric
P1680895-1
P1680902-1
1 lb skinless, boneless chicken thighs (you can use breasts, but the thighs are more flavorful)
1 large red onion, chopped (about 1 cup)
5 cloves garlic, minced
2 jalapeño peppers, seeded and minced
P1680908-1
2 Tbsp olive oil
1 14-oz can coconut milk
P1680943-1
2 teaspoons cornstarch
1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
P1680948-1
3 Tbsp fresh basil leaves, chopped
1 Tbsp finely chopped fresh ginger

In a small bowl, mix together the salt, ground coriander, cumin, ground cloves, cinnamon, ground cardamom, black pepper, chili powder, and turmeric. Set aside.
P1680899-1

Rinse chicken, pat dry. Cut into 1-inch pieces. Put into a bowl and sprinkle the spice mix over all the pieces.
P1680904-1
Coat well and let sit for 30 minutes at room temperature or in the refrigerator for 1 to 2 hours.
P1680905-1

In a large skillet heat 1 Tbsp oil on medium high heat. Add the onions
P1680926-1
and jalapeños
P1680927-1
P1680928-1
and cook for 3 minutes.
P1680931-1
Add the garlic
P1680932-1
and cook for 1 minute more. Remove the onions, peppers and garlic from the pan and put into a medium sized bowl. Set aside. Use the same pan for the next step.
P1680941-1

Add 1 Tbsp oil to the skillet and heat on medium high heat. Add one half of the chicken pieces, spreading them out on the pan so they are not crowded.
P1680934-1
P1680936-1
Brown for a few minutes on each side. When the chicken pieces are cooked through, and no pink remains, remove from pan, add to the bowl with the onions.
P1680945-1
Cook the second batch of chicken pieces the same way. Remove from pan, add to bowl with onions.

Add the coconut milk, minus a couple tablespoons, to the skillet. In a small bowl, mix the remaining coconut with the corn starch to dissolve the corn starch. Add the corn startch mixture back to the skillet with the coconut milk. Cook on medium heat and stir till thick and bubbly. Mix in the worcestershire sauce. Add chicken mixture, basil, and ginger. Cook 2 minutes more to cook through.
P1680950-1
P1680952-1
Serve over rice
P1680969-1
P1680975-1

One thought on “Basil Chicken in Coconut Curry Sauce Recipe

Leave a Reply

