Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

I would have to say that one of my most favorite things to cook is marinara sauce. I am not a big fan of meatballs, I’d rather just have a marinara meat sauce, or with tons of veggies. LOVE veggies. I go through these stages of hating meat. Like it grosses me out and all I eat is Veggies and Potatoes…The ONLY meat that doesn’t ever gross me out is bacon! I could NEVER get sick of Bacon! Bacon is LOVE! Like Good Love!

So I got this recipe from Katie! Timmy and Katie invited us over for dinner this past Saturday. I always get so excited to go to someone elses house for dinner as that doesn’t happen to often. A lot of people are intimidated to cook for me, as I am pretty picky! Just don’t make microwaved rice, or beans, or frozen, or canned veggies, or Hamburger Helper, or Canned soup, etc and I think I will be ok. Just make it fresh and with a LOT Of flavor and we are good!

I appreciate Katie and Timmy’s way of cooking. They cook like Normy and me, Good and gourmet! Oh and Katie told me she used San Marzano tomatoes in her sauce and I was like you are the BEST! Anyone who knows me knows I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE San Marzano tomatoes! I asked Normy to buy me a case for Christmas, I love them so much! I shared Katie’s Buffalo chicken dip on here. One of my most favorite dips! Holy Cow Dip Ranks #1 and then Buffalo chicken dip, You need to make both of these dips today!

Oooh I bought some grapefruits at the store today check them out!
Nice Grapefruits I got!
INAPROPRIATE! (Thats my middle name)

OK now let’s get down to business of making this kick ass sauce! Make it, you will love it and you will Thank me for sharing it with you! Make it for a crowd and they will praise you for it!

Recipe

3/4 cup chopped onion (I used a red onion and because I LOVE onion I added in about a cup and a half)
5 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 cup olive oil
2 (28 ounce) cans whole peeled tomatoes
2 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon white sugar (I used brown sugar and I used 2 tablespoons)
2 bay leaf
1 (6 ounce) can tomato paste
3/4 teaspoon dried basil
1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
(I always tweak recipes to make them my own (as you know) I added in 1/4 cup of red wine too, I also added in red pepper flakes too and I added in Garlic Salt, and Oregano, and Italian seasonings, I don’t measure I do it all on taste)

In a large saucepan over medium heat, saute onion
P1690110-1
and garlic in olive oil
P1690114-1
until onion is translucent. Stir in tomatoes,
P1690115-1
salt, sugar and bay leaf.
P1690120-1
Cover, reduce heat to low, and simmer 90 minutes. Stir in tomato paste, basil, 1/2 teaspoon pepper and simmer 30 minutes more. Serve.

Recipe

Meatball Recipe
a mixture of 1 pound ground beef and 1/2 pound ground pork (I used spicy Italian Sausage)
1 large egg, slightly beaten
1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese
1/3 cup breadcrumbs (or use enough to hold the meat together)
P1690122-1
1 -2 tablespoon fresh minced garlic (or use 1 teaspoon garlic powder or to taste)
1 -2 teaspoon salt (or to taste, I use 2 teaspoons seasoned salt)
1 teaspoon fresh ground black pepper
1/3 cup milk (can use up to 1/2 cup milk)
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano (optional, or to taste)
1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley (or 2 tablespoons dried parsley)
P1690124-1

Mix all ingredients together in a large bowl.
(Get Normy to) Shape into small meatballs
P1690129-1
P1690132-1
P1690135-1
P1690136-1
Drop the meatballs into simmering pasta sauce, do not stir for at least 20 minutes or you will risk breaking the meatballs.
P1690140-1
P1690141-1
P1690143-1
Continue cooking in the simmering sauce for another 20 minutes (depending on how fast your sauce is simmering 40 minutes total should fully cook the meatballs).
After the 40 minutes cooking time continue cooking your sauce with the meatballs in for as long as desired.
P1690157-1
P1690159-1
I give this sauce a Thumbs UP!
P1690164-1
Add to some pasta
P1690167-1
and don’t forget the CHEESE!
P1690172-1
P1690190-1

Leave a Reply

