My Version of Strawberry Shortcake

So when you make a nice dinner, and dessert its nice when the guys you cook for, offer to do the dishes for you!
P1690738-1
So you can stand on the other side of the counter and do things like this:
P1690739-1

So basically Strawberry shortcakes (To me) consist of Pound cake, Whipped Cream and Strawberries…

So I just bought a pound cake (sorry to say I didn’t bake it).

Strawberries (sliced)
P1690744-1

and of course the whipped cream HAS to be homemade (you know I have never in my 32 years of life have ever bought Cool Whip, and I NEVER Will) For the whipped cream, I just used a pint of heavy whipping cream to my handy, beast the kitchen aide mixer, Whipped it a little and then added in vanilla extract (about a tsp) Then whip a little more, then add in bakers sugar, (did this by taste) Couple tbsp I would say,
P1690742-1
P1690746-1
then whip in med, to med high speed until you get stiff peaks.

Then I got some pretty Martini glasses and sliced the angel food cake into slices and then into bite size pieces and then I took the whipped cream and put it in a pastry bag with a tip instead of just scooping it out with a spoon, thought I would use the pastry bag and make it look nice.
P1690762-1

So I started with a little bit in the bottom of the glass then topped that with the chunks of angel food cake, then added the sliced strawberries and topped it off with more whipped cream…
This is what I came up with…
P1690751-1
P1690753-1
P1690759-1
I made each of us our own, and I did the whipped cream on top, different for each of us…
P1690748-1
P1690761-1
P1690768-1
P1690772-1
P1690773-1

2 thoughts on “My Version of Strawberry Shortcake

  1. I love the individual glasses! I need to try and make my own whipped cream, I always use the Cool whip for the trifles but I bet they would taste better homemade!

Leave a Reply

