Basic Breakfast Potatoes

Well it was a busy week and a busy weekend for me! Go go-go. I feel like I haven’t had anytime to relax. Between Cupcake orders and cake orders and the holiday this weekend, it was busy!

So this past week I had me two cupcake orders, and a cake order and then I decided to make a cake for Easter Sunday! Check them out:
DSC_0053-1
Chocolate cake with Maraschino cherry frosting topped with Maraschino cherries…
DSC_0059-1
Lemon Cupcakes, with Lemon Buttercream Frosting
DSC_0047-1
DSC_0051-1
and then the cake I made for Easter
DSC_0282-1
DSC_0154-1
DSC_0153-1
Normy can’t wait to try it:
DSC_0156-1
So for Easter we celebrated with Normy’s Family and went to my Mother in Law’s for Brunch: She had a nice Spread:

My Father in law made (The Best) Bloody Mary’s:
DSC_0039-1
So I asked him where he got the recipe from, so he said Food Network and he searched Bloody Mary, Pitcher and its the first one, and so I searched and I found his recipe (as he told me what was in it). So here is the recipe which I am thinking I am going to make more this weekend as they are so GOOD! I think I had 4 of them!
There were also Mimosa
DSC_0042-1
Normy likes him some of those!

My mother in law also made some fabulous casseroles, Farmer’s Casserole and French Toast Casserole!
DSC_0046-1
DSC_0048-1
I’ve made Farmers Casserole before: recipe
and the French Toast Casserole was AMAZING! I am not a big fan of French Toast, but this is so GOOD: Recipe Make it this weekend! I am telling you, you will LOVE IT!
DSC_0067-1
And I made The Pioneer Woman’s Breakfast Potatoes:

Recipe

■4 whole (to 5) Large Red Potatoes
■1 whole Onion
■1 Tablespoon Vegetable Or Canola Oil
■1 Tablespoon Bacon Fat (I used Butter)
■ Salt And Pepper, to taste
■ Red And Green Bell Peppers, Diced (optional)

Place potatoes in a large pot and cover entirely with water.
DSC_0001-1
Bring to a boil and cook until potatoes are fork tender. When they are ready, place the potatoes on a cutting board and dice them into 1-inch pieces.
DSC_0006-1

Next cut up an onion into a large, rough dice.
DSC_0004-1

In a large skillet heat oil and bacon fat over medium-low heat.(I added butter instead)
DSC_0010-1
Put the onions in the skillet
DSC_0012-1
and sauté until they start to turn brown.
DSC_0016-1
(You can also use red and green bell peppers diced up. If you do, throw them in at this point).
DSC_0009-1

Next, throw in the diced potatoes.
DSC_0017-1
DSC_0020-1
Stir well and then slightly press/pack then. Now you will cook them without stirring for several minutes. You want the pan to be hot enough to crisp the potatoes but not hot enough to char them. (Optional step: sprinkle a bit of flour over potatoes as they cook). Cook for several minutes and then flip them with a spatula. Salt and Pepper them as they cook. Cook until desired brownness.
DSC_0028-1
DSC_0066-1
and check out the Fruit kabobs my Favorite Sister in law Tara made:
DSC_0060-1
DSC_0082-1
Heck check out the whole spread!
DSC_0058-1
oh and you need a side view too
DSC_0061-1
My mother and father in law know how to have brunch!

DSC_0056-1
Here’s my Plate:
DSC_0079-1
Oh look, I can get my Sister in law to do what I do:
DSC_0139-1
all the kids after they went hunting for eggs
DSC_0106-1
and me and my Normy
DSC_0184-1

The End!

9 thoughts on “Basic Breakfast Potatoes

  1. Wow! What a spread! I have never heard of French Toast Casserole before- but I love breakfast food, especially French Toast.

    Everything here looks great. Those cakes are spectacular.

  2. I’m gonna try your breakfast potatoes (with Bacon). I am out of town this weekend, but I need to make bloody mary’s again. I got a great recipe from an airline club room in New Orleans. It makes a glass at a time, rather than a pitcher, but is otherwise similar.

    Normy seems to favor your m-i-l. She’s pretty cute! 😎

    1. Bacon makes everything better David! You must tell me how they are! HA Normy better favor my mil as that his is MOTHER. She always says that is her favorite son (her only son) and she always reminds him that she gave him life! LOL

  3. My goodness! We were traveling for Easter so missed out on home-cooked meal. After seeing these pics I feel like I’ve ben there. Gorgeous cakes! Wow!

  4. Loved the colored Easter cake, it was perfect! Your chocolate with maraschino cherry one looks fabulous! Yum! Glad my fruit kabobs made it into the blog!

Leave a Reply

