Classic Macaroni Salad & Happy Mother’s Day!

This past weekend for Mother’s Day we had my mom, dad and brother over for dinner. I love to cook (bet you didn’t know that did ya?) so when I want to do something nice for someone I like to cook them dinner. So I asked my mom what she wanted and we made her, her favorite dishes. Normy made his Breaded Chicken because she LOVES it! My mom doesn’t like chicken at all, but she LOVES Normy’s Breaded chicken.
DSC_0189-1
DSC_0172-1
I made her my Broccoli Salad as she LOVES that too! And then I made her a new recipe (this Recipe) and she LOVED it too! I also made her my deviled eggs ,
DSC_0158-1
DSC_0161-1
DSC_0164-1
and Strawberry Cupcakes with vanilla Butter Cream frosting…
DSC_0175-1

Recipe

4 cups uncooked elbow macaroni
1 cup mayonnaise
1/4 cup distilled white vinegar
2/3 cup white sugar
2 1/2 tablespoons prepared yellow mustard
DSC_0137-1
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
1 large onion, chopped
2 stalks celery, chopped
1 green bell pepper, seeded and chopped
(I also added in a packet of Ranch dressing mix)
I also added in 8oz of extra sharp cheddar cheese, cut up in cubes
DSC_0134-1

Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil. Add the macaroni, and cook until tender, about 8 minutes. Rinse under cold water and drain.

In a large bowl, mix together the mayonnaise,
DSC_0136-1
vinegar, sugar, mustard, salt and pepper.
DSC_0139-1
Stir in the onion, celery, green pepper,
DSC_0144-1
and macaroni. (And Ranch Packet)
DSC_0146-1
DSC_0148-1
Refrigerate for at least 4 hours before serving, but preferably overnight.
DSC_0191-1
My dad was really excited about trying the Mac Salad
DSC_0190-1
DSC_0187-1
Lets eat some dinner
DSC_0195-1
DSC_0194-1

My parents love Bacon
DSC_0151-1
So does Normy
DSC_0152-1
I really like this picture of my mom and dad. Really captures the moment!
DSC_0180-1
My family (The Fab 4) The Creeks
DSC_0183-1
People wonder where I get my goofy side, well I would say I think I get some of it from my dad. I was cooking away and he comes over to me and does this, and says “Look I am a Pirate ARGH” (the hook is an attachment from my Kitchen Aid mixer).
DSC_0109-1
and then he came up to me another time and did this…(Those are my Sunglasses)
DSC_0155-1
Who is Darker? (Glad I get my tan skin from my dad)
DSC_0184-1
Priceless
DSC_0185-1
Happy Mother’s Day Mom!
DSC_0201-1
DSC_0202-1
DSC_0203-1
DSC_0200-1
Instead of getting my mom a dozen Roses, I decided to make a dozen cupcakes with these pretty candy roses on top!

DSC_0205-1

2 thoughts on “Classic Macaroni Salad & Happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

