Memorial Day Weekend and Chile Con Queso, and Jalapeno Poppers

DSC_0466-1
This past weekend was a great weekend! It was the 1st weekend I had off, Where I didn’t have to bake any cupcakes or cakes…So we planned some pretty fun stuff for the long weekend! Saturday we got up early and met Timmy and Katie for some breakfast. Then we went on a hike, then for some drinks and then back to their place, where I passed out on their couch because they wore me out! (That doesn’t happen to often). I had my left over ceviche and Italian pasta salad I fed them with after our hike and drinks and hanging out. I think they liked it…

So here is a look at what we did for the weekend….

DSC_0008-1
DSC_0034-1
Timmy is a nut, I always like hanging out with him! So funny!
DSC_0044-1
man she is strong eh
DSC_0091-1
awwwwwww
DSC_0122-1
Oh look there is Timmy being Timmy
DSC_0134-1
after hiking we stopped at this spice store so I could get some new spices…I LOVE the saying they have on the window of their store, I think it is so ME:
DSC_0151-1
While we were there Timmy drew me a picture…
DSC_0153-1
This is what he drew me:
DSC_0154-1
Smart man! LOVE IT!
Then we stopped and had some drinks
DSC_0158-1

Bloody Mary mmmmmmmmmmm

What a fun day! Can’t WAIT to go hiking with Timmy and Katie again!

So then Sunday I got up and made some goodies for a BBQ that our friend James was having. But this wasn’t just ANY BBQ. This was an Epic BBQ! James was smoking some ribs. And I must admit, um they were pretty DAMN good!
So after making goodies (recipe to come) I got my hairs did. So I had to look my best and bring yummies to this BBQ.
Got my hairs did today

So I made some yummy queso from The Pioneer Woman! (have I told you yet today that I Love her)
Check it out YO

recipe

■32 ounces, weight Velveeta Cheese Loaf (I am sorry this stuff is so nasty, I can’t get over cheese that sits on a shelf) ewwwwwww
■10 ounces, weight Rotel
■1 pound Jimmy Dean Hot Breakfast Premium Pork Sausage
■7 ounces, weight Chopped Green Chilies
■1 whole Yellow Onion
■1 whole Jalapeno, or more to taste
DSC_0176-1

Dice the onion. Using a nonstick sprayed skillet, cook sausage and onions
DSC_0180-1
until brown,
DSC_0187-1
stirring occasionally. Once browned, drain some of the fat from the skillet.

Cube Velveeta loaf.
DSC_0192-1
Add cubes to browned sausage and onion mixture.
DSC_0194-1
Add can of Rotel (juice and all),
DSC_0197-1
can of green chilies (juice and all),
DSC_0199-1
and stir over low heat.

Cut the top and bottom off the jalapeño, slice into matchsticks, then rotate and slice to create a fine dice. (For a spicy version, leave seeds and white membranes. For a milder option, remove them.) Add to queso and stir.
DSC_0204-1

Serving tip: Use a fondue pot or crock pot to serve piping hot!

DSC_0207-1
This was tasty, even if it had the gross Velveeta Cheese in it….

SO you want to see the ribs James smoked?

Oh yeah check these babies out…
DSC_0229-1
I think I heard the guys say they smoked for 7 hours…
Oh look its the grill master James
DSC_0234-1
Uh Oh I found his Pepper Grinder and this is what I did…
DSC_0396-1
Normy always tells me I need to be good and filter, Not sure what he means…I’m being perfectly fine. Just being ME!
This is MY MOST FAVORITE Picture of the day…Normy and some of his buds…
DSC_0453-1
Look at those Ribs…
DSC_0272-1
Normy was in charge of flipping them…
DSC_0292-1
For some reason at the end of the day all I smelt like was smoke…Not sure why?
DSC_0365-1
This could be an ad for a weber grill…
DSC_0371-1
All the dudes around the grill stroking each others ego, saying what a good job they all did on the Ribs and Grilling…
DSC_0373-1
and toasting (WINNING)
DSC_0375-1
Oh look there is my hubby and me
DSC_0394-1
I Spent 3 hours getting my hairs all pretty and cut and they didn’t look half as good as Matt’s!
DSC_0407-1
DSC_0409-1
Hey Matt are you ready to have some ribs?
DSC_0444-1
So Along with Queso I also made Bacon wrapped Jalepenos…We weren’t sure on how to cook them. First we tried to grill them
DSC_0392-1
and they fell through, then we thought about baking them and well that would make the kitchen too hot, so the guys decided to SMOKE them too…
Little Miss Karen had to sample one…
DSC_0440-1
Oh and then the guys wanted another picture of “just the guys” and Little Karen snuck in….
DSC_0454-1
Look there are my poppers getting ready to be smoked…
DSC_0461-1

So now I will tell you the recipe for those…
So I just made up the stuffing on my own…I took two 8 oz thingies of cream cheese, 1 package (2 cups) of Pepper Jack Cheese, 1/2 cup may-o, Garlic Salt, pepper and about 1/4 of smoked paprika and mixed it all together,
DSC_0212-1
Then I cut the jalapenos in half
DSC_0183-1
DSC_0185-1
and deseeded them,
DSC_0209-1
washed them and then stuffed them
DSC_0215-1
DSC_0216-1
and took 1 pound of bacon and cut it in half and wrapped each half of bacon around the half of stuffed poppers. So I believe that was 20 jalapenos I used total….
DSC_0220-1
DSC_0222-1
See my poppers hanging out with those ribs getting their smoked goodness ON!
DSC_0480-1
so the guys were too busy doing the ribs, so Anisa and Karen helped get my poppers off the grill, Girl Power!
DSC_0541-1
So I let like the 3rd person ever to allow to touch my new camera to get this shot…
DSC_0544-1
So now back to the ribs…
Gotta rub some BBQ sauce all over them
DSC_0518-1
These Ribs are going to be the BEST ribs you EVER had YO
DSC_0522-1
How much for a Rib?
DSC_0535-1
James taking a break to get some shots
DSC_0548-1
DSC_0573-1
Time to EAT
DSC_0576-1
DSC_0577-1
DSC_0578-1
DSC_0579-1
DSC_0580-1
DSC_0581-1
Even Spot wanted some
DSC_0584-1
so then after stuffing our faces with Ribs and poppers and wine and beer and asparagus and Food, we all decided to make James kitchen a dance club!
DSC_0594-1
DSC_0599-1
DSC_0603-1
DSC_0607-1
DSC_0619-1
Was an AWESOME weekend! I need to go to Gym about 5 hours each day now, after all the food we ate this weekend!

One thought on “Memorial Day Weekend and Chile Con Queso, and Jalapeno Poppers

Leave a Reply

