Roast chicken with dijon sauce

So when I made this chicken I had so many things I wanted to do! Like go to the gym, make Normy and I a Fabulous dinner, make a cake for my friend Andrea (who I have known since 4th grade) for her graduation, and then Blue Berry muffins for my co workers and Normys. I tell you, me and my brilliant ideas! So I wanted to do it all and I got it all done! You know who cares that I was up till 1:30 in the morning! I got it done! YAY! Remember I am Just Jamie! Normy said I was pretty amazing for doing do much and getting it all done! I wasn’t so amazing Friday when I had to be up at 6:00AM!

recipe

3 pounds chicken parts (thighs, drumsticks, and/or breasts), with skin and bones (I did thighs, and I didn’t do 3 pounds, as it’s just Normy and me)
DSC_0073-1
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
2 small shallots, thinly sliced
DSC_0077-1
3/4 cup dry white wine
3/4 cup reduced-sodium or sodium-free chicken broth
1/4 cup heavy cream
2 tablespoons smooth Dijon mustard
1 tablespoon finely chopped chives or the green parts of scallions
DSC_0071-1

Preheat oven to 450°F with a rack in middle. Pat chicken dry and season generously with salt and freshly ground black pepper. Heat oil in a ovenproof 12-inch heavy skillet (if you’ve got a cast iron skillet, it is great here) over medium-high heat until it shimmers. Working in 2 batches, brown chicken, skin side down first and turning once, about 5 minutes per batch. Not moving the chicken until the skin releases itself and has a nice bronze on it, which will provide the best flavor and seal in the most juices.

Return all chicken, skin side up, to skillet and roast in oven until just cooked through, 15 to 20 minutes. Transfer chicken to a platter, then add shallots, wine, and broth to pan juices in skillet and boil, scraping up any brown bits, until reduced by half, 2 to 3 minutes. Add cream and boil until slightly thickened, about 1 minute. To thicken the sauce further, turn the heat to high and boil it until it reduces to a consistency you prefer.

Whisk in mustard, chives, and salt and pepper to taste.
DSC_0084-1
DSC_0097-1
Serve chicken with sauce.

2 thoughts on “Roast chicken with dijon sauce

Leave a Reply

