Sesame Crusted Seared Ahi Tuna

So friday was a pretty good day. Made my boss a tart and got to slack off the last hour of work, my co workers thanked me for that!

Then after work Normy called and said he was hanging out with Timmy and then asked if I wouldn’t mind if Timmy and Katie coming over and I said sure why not, but I needed to bake. I had a cake and cupcake order and I also had another cake I was baking my nephew for his birthday. So I told Normy I saw a recipe at work and I wanted to make it, so I told him it was Ahi Tuna and he said ok let’s make it and we will make Timmy and Katie dinner too.

So I started the night off making dinner for Timmy and Katie This is what I made…

Well First I started everyone off with these chips from Whole Foods with Whole food Guac, Great way to start!

Then Normy made some Drinks
DSC_0143-1

Then I made them Caprese Salad

But First Timmy had to do this before I made the salad
DSC_0142-1
DSC_0141-1
I taught him SO well!
DSC_0212-1
DSC_0216-1
Then I made Mushroom Salad
LOVE me some mushrooms!
DSC_0149-1
DSC_0203-1
DSC_0208-1
DSC_0205-1
Then I made the Sesame Crusted Seared Ahi Tuna

Recipe

◦1 Ahi tuna steak (mine was about 8 oz. or 1/2 pound) – I did this X4 as there was 4 people!
DSC_0161-1
DSC_0164-1
◦2 Tablespoons of black sesame seeds
◦2 Tablespoons of white sesame seeds
DSC_0169-1
◦Kosher Salt
◦Olive oil (or vegetable oil) for frying
◦Optional: (Arugula tossed in olive oil, balsamic vinegar, salt and pepper), Teriyaki sauce, soy sauce and wasabi

Let tuna steak completely defrost overnight in the freezer (if using fresh tuna, skip this step). Lightly use a paper towel and pat the steak to absorb excess juices. Cut steak to your liking–you can sear the entire steak as it is or cut it into a rectangle to get more even slices (I did the latter and cut my tuna steak in half to get smaller pieces).

In a separate bowl big enough to fit the tuna steak, add the black and white sesame seeds as well as a sprinkle of kosher salt. Using tongs, coat the entire outside of the tuna by pressing it into the sesame seeds until the steak is completely covered.
DSC_0172-1
DSC_0175-1
DSC_0177-1
In a pan, add enough oil to just coat the bottom of the pan and preheat the pan to medium-high heat. Then take the tuna and place it in the hot pan and sear for about 45 seconds* on all sides (including the skinnier sides!). Tongs really help for this process.
DSC_0182-1
DSC_0183-1

Slice steak up into pieces
DSC_0190-1
DSC_0193-1
DSC_0197-1
and serve with soy sauce and wasabi.
DSC_0199-1

* I like my tuna extremely raw (like sashimi) so 45 seconds on each side was perfect. If you don’t like your tuna as raw, sear for longer but I suggest that you don’t go over 2 minutes or else your tuna will be too dry.
DSC_0220-1
DSC_0223-1
DSC_0224-1
DSC_0227-1
Timmy and Katie Really liked dinner
DSC_0229-1
Especially Timmy
DSC_0230-1
He said the Mushrooms were Money.

So then after dinner I started baking and Normy got to do this
DSC_0241-1

LUCKY!

So I started baking around 10PM. I had a Guinness chocolate cake to make and a dozen rainbow cupcakes too, PLUS I wanted to make my nephew TJ an angry bird cake for a family party for Saturday. I was up till 2AM making the Guinness cake and cupcakes, and baked the cake for my nephew, then got up Saturday morning and started frosting my the cake and finished that at 2:30PM…Check out my creations!
When baking, you use a LOT of butter
DSC_0126-1
DSC_0284-1
DSC_0279-1
DSC_0292-1
DSC_0259-1
DSC_0266-1
DSC_0275-1
and the BEST cake of them all
Angry Birds Cake!
DSC_0005-1
DSC_0012-1
Look at that cake!
DSC_0478-1
all that work was SO worth it, cause look at what I got
A hug
DSC_0485-1
and a Smooooooch
DSC_0487-1
and ANOTHER hug
DSC_0491-1
DSC_0471-1
But then Angry bird had to be cut…GRRRRR
DSC_0494-1
AHHHHHHHH
So sad!
But tasted oooooh soooooo goooood
DSC_0499-1
That's all Folks!

4 thoughts on “Sesame Crusted Seared Ahi Tuna

  1. How did you do that cake? My son wants an Angry Birds birthday party, and I’ve been looking for cakes to do, and that one is exactly what I had in mind.

Leave a Reply

