Cajun Style Hashbrowns

When I was a kid, my mom would make hash browns a lot to go with dinner so I decided to make some tonight to go with some meatloaf. Thought it would be a nice change in how I make potatoes.

Peel and shred 6-8 potatoes,

DSC_0056-1

DSC_0057-1

I hate using the shredder/grater (whatever you want to call it) I have almost taken a finger off with it, several times, so I always ask Normy to do it for me.

once you shred the potatoes put them in a bowl and fill with really cold water and keep draining and refilling it until the water is clear. It washes the starch out of the potatoes and helps them cook better and crisp up  (an old trick my friend Stacey taught me)

get a cast iron skillet and turn it up to med heat and add olive oil to coat the pan and about 2 tablespoons of butter.
DSC_0064-1

Once the butter is melted add the shredded potatoes.
DSC_0065-1

Sprinkle some Creole Seasoning over the potatoes,
DSC_0071-1
I did this all on taste and in my opinion you can’t add too much of this stuff, as it is SO good. Also add black pepper.
Cook potatoes for about 10 minutes and turn (make sure not to burn them) Add more seasoning if you want, I DID!
DSC_0074-1
Cook potatoes for about 25-30 minutes or untill done and nice and brown and crispy.
Serve warm with a little more Creole seasoning sprinkled on top
DSC_0094-1

One thought on “Cajun Style Hashbrowns

Leave a Reply

