Green Chile with Pork

Last weekend since it was a long weekend (Labor Day weekend). Yes I know I am about a week behind on posting. So last weekend I made lots of good foods! So if there were 2 of anything I had fun taking Boobie pictures…

DSC_0012-1

DSC_0015-1

I also got a HUGE zucchini from my Mother in law to make zucchini bread, and some huge onions at the Farmer’s market to make green chile with and salsa

DSC_0009-1

I also got green tomatoes because you know how much I LOVE Fried Green Tomatoes
DSC_0017-1

Cream Cheese
DSC_0019-1

Peaches
DSC_0020-1

jalapenos
DSC_0023-1

Pickling cucumbers
DSC_0025-1

I had a hey day with the pictures (as you can tell)

Probably wondering what I made with the cream cheese? Well I have created a new kind of cupcake. Pupcakes. Cupcakes for dogs…
DSC_0142-1

DSC_0181-1

DSC_0146-1

The frosting is made with the cream cheese and dogs love these!

Normy and I also found a chile place where they roasted green chiles and I wanted to get some to make some green chile.

I used a Green chile recipe to go by and then I started adding stuff and made it up on my own as I went…

Here are some of the ingredients I used
DSC_0026-1

ok so for part of this Green chile I used this recipe as a guide to start with

2 yellow onions, chopped
DSC_0040-1
1 pound Tomatillos, husked, rinsed, and halved
DSC_0030-1
3 jalapenos, stemmed, seeded and halved
DSC_0035-1
2 garlic cloves
4 tablespoons canola oil
2 pounds boneless pork shoulder, cut into 1-inch cubes
DSC_0056-1
5 cups chicken stock
1 cup chopped fresh cilantro leaves
Salt
Pepper
10 flour tortillas, warmed

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

In a large bowl, toss the onions, tomatillos, jalapenos, and garlic with 1 tablespoon of the olive oil
DSC_0044-1
and spread on a baking sheet.
DSC_0051-1
Roast until soft and starting to brown, about 20 to 30 minutes, stirring twice during roasting.
DSC_0053-1

Meanwhile, in a large Dutch oven over medium-high heat, add the oil and heat. Brown the pork,
DSC_0058-1

DSC_0063-1
in batches, until well-browned. When browned, add all of the pork back to the pan and cover with chicken stock. Add the roasted vegetables,
DSC_0065-1

This is where I come in and added the green chilis I got and I also added a can of diced tomatoes. I left the skin on the chilis and you know that is a no, no. But I added it for the color, and the chile still tasted good, just the skin of the chiles does not break down and I knew this but still added it for color. (I do NOT recommend doing so) Live and Learn.
DSC_0084-1
I added in 2 bags of mild and one bag hot – (bags meaning the bags they give you at the chile place, think they call it a bushel)
DSC_0086-1

I also added in 1 tablespoon of cumin and 1 tablespoon of chili powder and salt and pepper to taste
DSC_0093-1
cover the pan and place in the oven. Cook until the pork is very tender, about 1 1/2 hours.

While pork is cooking, place the cilantro in a food processor. Add 2 tablespoons of water and puree. Remove the pork from the oven and stir in the cilantro puree. Season, to taste, with salt and pepper. Serve with warm flour tortillas.

DSC_0112-1

DSC_0123-1

DSC_0125-1

DSC_0127-1

Normy gives it a thumbs UP!
DSC_0133-1

DSC_0130-1

DSC_0135-1

Leave a Reply

