Queso Blanco – White Queso

So a couple of Sunday’s ago Katie and Timmy invited us over to watch some football. So YOU KNOW when Jamie is invited somewhere I gots to make a dish or two or five! It’s against everything I know to go to someones house and not bring something. I feel rude! (yes I have issues).

I wanted a yummy queso WITHOUT using Velveeta!

So this is what I came up with…

(I used this) recipe Then I added some of my own Jamie extras!

1 tbsp. canola or vegetable oil
¼ cup onion, finely chopped
DSC_0038-1
1 jalapeño pepper, seeded and finely chopped

12 oz. white American cheese (in the recipe it says to shred the cheese and I cubed it, It takes longer to melt cubed, DUH, so you could do it either way, Cubed is faster when making, but you have to wait longer to eat)
DSC_0071-1

DSC_0072-1
4 oz. Monterey jack cheese, shredded (Think I used more than that)
DSC_0078-1
(I also added in provolone cheese)
DSC_0085-1

DSC_0086-1

(I also had a few slices of extra sharp cheddar cheese and I didn’t want it to go bad so I threw that in there as well, I believe it was 4 slices)
DSC_0089-1
¼-2/3 cup milk
1 tomato, seeded and finely diced
2 tbsp. cilantro, minced

Heat the oil in a medium pan over medium-high heat.
DSC_0041-1
Add the onion and jalapeño to the pan and cook,
DSC_0043-1
stirring occasionally, until tender, about 5 minutes.

So I sautéed the onions and jalapeno in a skillet and then after they were cooked, I had my crock pot all ready. Thought it would work better to cook the queso in a crock pot so it could stay warm, instead of on the stove (also easier to transport to Timmy and Katie’s, cause I have the fancy crock pot that the lid locks)

So turn your crock pot up to high and add the cooked onions and jalapeno. Add cheeses

DSC_0076-1

and ¼ cup of the milk.

DSC_0089-1

I went and got ready while the cheese cooked, (about an hour) and stirred every now and then, until completely melted. Mix in the tomato and cilantro,
DSC_0090-1
and add additional milk gradually as necessary to achieve desired consistency.

DSC_0092-1

So then put your lid on your crock pot and take it with you in your car, and head over to Timmy and Katie’s for some Football fun!
There was SO Much good food at this Football party, check it out:
Timmy made some jalapenos stuffed with all sorts of goodness…
DSC_0095-1
Ashley made a 7 layer dip that no matter how much you ate, you couldn’t make a dent in it
DSC_0098-1
Look at all the food! I have NO idea why I was SO full that day!?
DSC_0102-1

Katie made some balls
DSC_0105-1

I had to try one of Katie’s Balls, they were good balls!
DSC_0106-1
Normy and Timmy are checking their football stats
DSC_0108-1
Hey look there is my queso
DSC_0110-1
So the Minnesota Vikings were playing and Timmy and Katie love them:
They scored here, can you tell?
DSC_0114-1

DSC_0121-1

so along with my queso that I made I also brought some pickled jalapenos that I made and I thought they would go really nice with the queso
DSC_0128-1

And they did!

DSC_0171-1

uh oh looks like Timmy is getting a mouthful LOL
DSC_0130-1

looks like the Vikings aren’t doing so good…
DSC_0150-1

So I told everyone to go and eat some queso so I could take pictures for my blog and this is what I got…
DSC_0152-1

DSC_0153-1

DSC_0154-1

This one is my FAVORITE!

DSC_0155-1

DSC_0159-1

Katie has some really nice bowls that I like
DSC_0160-1

I also brought my tart that I madeDSC_0180-1

it was good we demolished it
DSC_0198-1

One thought on “Queso Blanco – White Queso

Leave a Reply

