19 ingredients Marinara Sauce

I don’t think some people realize what goes into cooking sometimes. The chopping, sauteing, simmer, clean up, um the grocery bill, OUCH! When I cook, I don’t think people realize how much LOVE and attention and detail I put into a dish, or a meal! Especially if it’s for something important like a dinner party, holiday or birthday….I plan for days, sometimes weeks HECK sometimes months! I research recipes and try to find the best one, or I use a mixture of several recipes, or I just make it up as I go. But either way my mind is focused on what I need to make! I make a list and go to the store, or usually I send Normy and Then I spend many hours in my kitchen making that PERFECT dish or meal! My (Sometimes) Blood, sweat and tears and time and effort, everything I have and know goes into that meal. It’s a reflection of me and my passion so OF COURSE its a big deal and I want it to be perfect for who I am making it for. I want them to taste the love. I want them to look at me and go mmmmmmmm this is the BEST meal I had, since the last time I ate your food! Not really, but I really want to make their mouth, and tummy and them to be very happy! That is ONE Of the MANY reasons I LOVE TO COOK…OK Just had to throw that out there and tell you. Now for the Good stuff! THE FOOOOOOD!

Can you guess 19 things to put in Marinara sauce?

Well I can tell you the 19 ingredients that went into mine!

Friday November 4th (yes I know I am SO behind on posting this) we celebrated my mother in-laws birthday and for her birthday her “kids” made her dinner.

Her favorite dish from Normy is Chicken Parmesan. So us kids made her Chicken Parmesan, with Marinara sauce, Garlic Bread and salad oh and dessert.
Normy was in charge of the chicken
I was in charge of the sauce and dessert
Normy’s Sis was in charge of the bread
and Her Boyfriend was in charge of the salad

So I prepped the sauce the night before the dinner so it could simmer for hours

So the 19 ingredients that go in my sauce are:
LOVE
red onion
garlic
carrots
salt
pepper
whole canned tomatoes
canned diced tomatoes
tomato paste
oregano
italian seasoning
thyme
basil
Herbes de Provence
garlic salt
balsamic vinegar
brown sugar
and the MOST important ingredient of all…
RED WINE!

OK let me show you how I made this pot of LOVE!

1st Start with one whole, large red onion chopped
DSC_0242-1

then 6 cloves of garlic (more if you like A LOT)
DSC_0245-1

chop that garlic up
DSC_0247-1

(I am doing a rough chop on all the veggies as later you will use the hand blender to make the sauce silky smooth)

Then 5 stalked of celery
DSC_0248-1
cut the green leaves off
DSC_0251-1
and chop up

then get 16 small carrots
DSC_0253-1

Chop those up as well
DSC_0254-1

Then get a dutch oven, or large pot to throw all this goodness in.
Preheat pot to med high heat, and coat the bottom of the pan with olive oil
DSC_0258-1

Throw in the red onion
DSC_0259-1

Celery
DSC_0265-1

and carrots
DSC_0267-1

stir and saute 5-7 minutes or until onions are translucent
DSC_0269-1

add salt and pepper to taste and stir
DSC_0271-1

Then add garlic
DSC_0275-1

Stir that in
then you will need
35 oz can whole tomatoes
2 28 oz can diced tomatoes
2 28 oz cans tomato sauce
2 6 oz cans of tomato paste
DSC_0277-1

add in whole canned tomatoes
DSC_0280-1

then diced tomatoes
DSC_0283-1

then sauce
DSC_0291-1

at this point my dutch oven was too small and I had to transfer the sauce to a bigger pot
add in salt and pepper to taste
DSC_0297-1

then add in 2 tbsp of oregano
DSC_0300-1

2 tbsp of Italian Seasoning
DSC_0302-1

2 tsp of thyme
DSC_0304-1
then add in 2 tsp basil
2 tsp Herbes de Provence
2 tsp Garlic salt
DSC_0324-1
stir together

then add 1/4 a cup of Balsamic vinegar
DSC_0309-1

DSC_0308-1

Stir in, to combine

Then add 6 tbsp brown sugar
DSC_0313-1

stir in to combine

Then get your handy-dandy hand blender and blend that sauce until it is nice and smooth and not chunks
DSC_0316-1

then add in 1 cup red wine or you could add 2 if you want
DSC_0318-1

then add more salt and pepper and garlic salt to taste
DSC_0322-1

stir sauce together and let it simmer for 4 hours on low stir occasionally.

and serve.

But what I did was cooled the sauce and then refrigerated it and then brought it over to my mother in laws the next night and heated it back up while the rest of dinner was made…

So Normy made his chicken, with a little helper named TJ
DSC_0007-1

gotta flatten the chicken out to where it is all the same thickness so it cooks evenly
DSC_0014-1

Isela helping Normy with his Apron, Very important to wear an apron while cooking so you don’t mess up your clothes
DSC_0029-1

Normy prepping his chicken
DSC_0044-1

The Birthday girl enjoying a drink while everyone cooks for her
DSC_0047-1

when cooking the chicken make sure you have plenty of olive oil in the pan
DSC_0051-1

Normy chicken Parmesan is the best!
DSC_0063-1

hey get out of the kitchen lady, we are cooking for you! She just wanted a picture of her favorite (only) son!
DSC_0069-1

Chicken is cooking away
DSC_0075-1

almost done!
DSC_0078-1

Doing the pasta! Is it al dente?
DSC_0080-1

let’s wash up for dinner
DSC_0088-1

DSC_0089-1

salad
DSC_0093-1

the chicken is done MAN!
DSC_0103-1

Me and Normy make a pretty good team! He is the chicken for my sauce! hahahahahahahaha
DSC_0105-1

MMMMMMMM
DSC_0117-1

Everyone about to stuff their faces!
DSC_0120-1

Cheers to Evelyn! Happy Birthday!
DSC_0122-1

I LIKE a LOT Of sauce on my pasta and chicken
DSC_0123-1
you can never have too much sauce!

Now it’s time for dessert
apple dumplings
DSC_0134-1

while that bakes lets open gifts!
DSC_0165-1

DSC_0178-1

DSC_0186-1

DSC_0193-1

DSC_0196-1

and smooches!
DSC_0218-1

Think she is enjoying her birthday
DSC_0207-1

time for birthday dessert Apple dumplings with vanilla ice cream
DSC_0227-1

DSC_0231-1

Happy Birthday to you, Happy Birthday to you…
Happy Birthday Dear Evelyn, Happy Birthday to youuuuuuuuu
DSC_0232-1

DSC_0233-1

Make a wish
DSC_0235-1

DSC_0236-1

DSC_0239-1

DSC_0242-1

One thought on “19 ingredients Marinara Sauce

Leave a Reply

