Lemon Pepper Chicken

Here is a Jamie Recipe for you! I thought of this all on my own!

 

Get you a 5 1/2 whole chicken, maybe a little more than that

DSC_0002-1

preheat your oven to 350 degrees

wash that chicken. I try to get the ones without the guts, as I really don’t care for sticking my hand up its bum! grosses me out and then I don’t want to eat anything for a day or two. Dry chicken with paper towels.

Then place the chicken in a roasting pan
DSC_0007-1

and get the following items:
DSC_0018-1

1/4 cup melted butter
Olive oil
Lemon Juice
Lemon Pepper seasoning
Kosher Salt

You could use fresh juice from a lemon or two instead of the lemon juice in a bottle. (I was out of lemons, so I went with the stuff in a bottle)

Tie the legs together, it helps them from burning and drying out, helps hold the chicken together to help keep it moist too (That Food Network is so helpful)

Then rub, coat the chicken under and over with olive oil, then add a couple of Tbsp of lemon juice, on bottom and over the top, more if you like a lot of lemon.

Then season to taste with Lemon Pepper seasoning and salt.

DSC_0009-1

DSC_0016-1

then last, brush a little of the butter over the top and legs and bake at 350 for 30 minutes covered, then take lid off and baste with more butter and bake for 30 more minutes (uncovered), and bake for 30 more minutes and baste again. I baked mine for about 1 1/2 hours and basted every 30 minutes, the 1st 30 I covered the chicken and the last hour I left uncovered so the skin would be crispy! (I love chicken skin, I always ask Normy for his skin. Gross, I know! My favorite is to get a rotisserie chicken from King Soopers or Cosco and eat all the skin and then let Normy eat the chicken.)

Take the chicken out of the oven and either check the temp and internal temperature should be 165 or cut a slit in the side of one of the legs and if the juices run clear, that baby is done!

Let it rest for about 10 minutes

DSC_0029-1

DSC_0031-1

then rip a leg off and eat it!
DSC_0042-1

Moist and juicy and lemony!

Leave a Reply

