Burgundy Mushrooms

So Thanksgiving morning I awoke around 6AM and couldn’t WAIT TO COOK!

I don’t think there was anyone (that I know of) that was as excited as me to cook Thanksgiving dinner. I planned for weeks! Got all my recipes I wanted to make, printed them, made my list, went to the store more than once. (More like Normy went to the store for me) Went to the liquor store.

So the longest thing that took to cook at my Thanksgiving dinner was not the Turkey. It was the Mushrooms! I have been wanting and trying to find the perfect time to cook these mushrooms as they take 9 hours to cook…

Normy had to go to the store twice for mushrooms and got the same cashier and he was really wanting to know what Normy was making with all these mushrooms, over 4 pounds is what he ended up buying. Normy replied with some 9 hour mushroom dish my wife is cooking with wine…

So here it is…Make these when you ever have the time. You won’t be disappointed!

Oh and Pioneer Woman, I love you!

Recipe

4 pounds White Button Mushrooms
DSC_0274-1
2 sticks Butter
DSC_0282-1
1-1/2 teaspoon Worcestershire Sauce
1 liter Burgundy Wine (other Reds Will Work)
DSC_0286-1
1 teaspoon Freshly Ground Black Pepper
2 cups Boiling Water
4 whole Chicken Bouillon Cubes
4 whole Beef Bouillon Cubes
DSC_0293-1
1 teaspoon Dill Seed
DSC_0296-1

DSC_0299-1
5 cloves Garlic, Peeled
DSC_03010-1
2 teaspoons Salt

Thoroughly wash the mushrooms
DSC_0277-1
and throw them into a large stockpot.
DSC_0279-1
Add all the remaining ingredients except the salt. Stir to combine.

Bring the mixture to a boil over medium-high heat. Reduce heat to low and simmer,
DSC_0304-1
covered, for six hours.
DSC_0306-1

Remove the lid, then continue cooking, uncovered, for three hours.

Add salt to taste at the end if desired. The mushrooms will be very dark in color. Simmer until needed. Server straight from the pot or in a serving bowl.
DSC_0395-1
Dip crusty bread in the juice—yum!

Mushrooms keep for days in the fridge. You’ll love ’em!

2 thoughts on “Burgundy Mushrooms

Leave a Reply

