Another Tour of My Kitchen and Yogurt-Marmalade Cake

I think I have given you a previous tour of my little kitchen…But I left some stuff out. So I thought I would give you another tour of my kitchen so you can see where all the food/magic happens in our little apartment…

This is a small counter to the left of the stove and next to our fridge…You like my big cutting board? I never use it. It’s so nice I don’t want to use it. Funny, cause it’s a cutting board! The only time I used it was to serve sushi that our friend made on…It was a gift from my mom as well as the canisters. Which I LOVE those canisters, but they are SO bad for my OCD. NO ONE is allowed to touch those and if you do, it leaves finger prints and I want to jump out of skin! I immediately get paper towels and windex to clean the finger prints off. Normy even knows the “correct” way to open those canisters! The Spice Rack is a gift from my good friend Robert. It’s my favorite spice rack I have even had and the longest I have kept one. and the salt and pepper shakers are from my friend Fawn Dawn…and the bread is from the store. (incase you wanted to know).

DSC_0014-1

There is an even smaller counter to the right of the stove and I just use it to store stuff on. Perfect for storing coffee, oils and Normy dressing and my ladybug utensil when cooking holder…Thought it would be cool to use old wine bottles to hold oil and keep on the counter cause I am ALWAYS using different oils…The RULE with this counter is: If you cook something fried or it splatters you are to take everything off the counter so the bottles don’t get yuck grease splattered all over them. There’s that damn OCD again! I just really like my stuff clean…really clean! Nothing wrong with that!

DSC_0016-1

And here is my stove and the counters I have been talking about above. Oh yeah and that microwave thingy that I hate and only (TRY) and use to just warm my coffee with…
DSC_0017-1

OK Now we are on the other side across from the stove, next to my kitchen sink. Normy hung this shelf for me so I could put cutie little thingys on it. The ladybug in the middle, my friend Heather got for me and its a tile and its of two things that I LOVE: Ladybugs and Sunflowers. She got that for me for my birthday this year. I love it and I keep it up there so I see it all the time and think of my friend…I love the knife holder! I used to reach in my drawers and get cut by the knives so Normy and me got that magnetic strip to hang the knifes on. Think it was like $10 at Bed Bath and Beyond.

The Kiss the Cook Picture to the right of the shelf is from my cousin Cynthia! I LOVE that Picture! And to the left is the phone jack which just looks ugly! We don’t have a home phone. Never understood having a home phone when you have a cell phone.
DSC_0018-1

Yes I took a picture of my paper towel holder as I LOVE paper towels. Anyone who knows me, knows that I LOVE Paper towels and windex and I use them like they are going out of style.
DSC_0020-1

I know this isn’t in the kitchen, but it’s apart of it and if I could fit it in the kitchen I would. This is just next to the kitchen in the dining room. It’s our trash. You open it and there is the trash can. I love it! My favorite Sister-n-law’s dad made it for us,  and did I mention how much I love it!? Then on top is MY MOST FAVORITE POT in my kitchen and that is my Le Creuset cast iron dutch oven that Normy got me and next to that is all my cooking utensils I use. The place mat thingy under the pot has a wine bottle on it and my brother got that for us cause it has red on it and wine and he knows I love both things.
DSC_0029-1

As you walk into the kitchen from the dining room you will find the hook with all my aprons and chef coat on. A cook can ALWAYS use aprons! I have 6 Aprons on that hook, one from Normy, old co workers, Heather, school, my mom, and Brianne. All gifts and I love them ALL!
DSC_0031-1

The front of my fridge used to have nothing on it. I liked the white and how clean it looked and then I got bored. Cause I am Jamie and I get bored really easily. So I added pictures of people I Love and pictures I have taken. Thought that would be fun and colorful…
DSC_0036-1

DSC_0035-1

Then on the side of my fridge I like to have quotes and a little tablet when I make a grocery list! I got the change quote from Fawn and the Pad from my favorite sister-in-law Tara…
DSC_0048-1

and then all over our kitchen you will find the old retro pictures (I guess you could call them) I LOVE THEM!
DSC_0038-1

DSC_0039-1

DSC_0034-1

Here is where I keep my plates and spices. Yes Plates and spices go together when you have limited space, oh and ramekins too and bowls…
DSC_0045-1

Below this cabinet is the pans cabinet where I put a lot of my skillets and sauce pans and where I store my sugar: Regular sugar, powdered sugar, and bakers sugar. I also have a few cake pans in this cabinet and colanders. When you don’t have a lot of space you make things fit, as mush stuff as you can.
DSC_0046-1

and then the drawer under the stove has all my baking dishes, pie pan, cake pans, cupcake pans, tart pan, loaf pan…oh and see the pan to the left? Don’t wash your cake pans in the dishwashers cause it makes them look ugly!
DSC_0047-1

and on the day I was taking pictures of my kitchen to give you all a tour, I was having coffee so I took a picture of my most favorite way to have coffee…From a press pot that Normy made, in my ladybug mug (always) with lots of cream!
DSC_0050-1

Then I have a cast iron recipe holder that my mom got me to hold a book or recipes! I use it almost every day! I LOVE IT!
DSC_0051-1

See I used it to hold the recipe I will be sharing with you in this post!

DSC_0054-1

and in front of the recipe holder is where I ALWAYS put my wedding rings! I do not cook with my rings. I don’t want to get them all gross so I take them off always while cooking! Gotta keep them pretty!

DSC_0055-1

and yes I took a picture of the dishwasher, as I LOVE the dishwasher. It has washed MANY dirty dishes for me. I HATE doing dishes! HATE! I do the cooking so (I feel) I shouldn’t have to do the dishes! And after cooking so much, who the heck wants to do the dishes? NOT ME!
DSC_0053-1

I took a picture of the sink too, cause

#1 it needs to be bigger and #

2 it has washed MANY dirty dishes and filled many pots of water to boil and I have washed my hands about a MILLION times with that faucet! It has been used to wash many, many things and you will NEVER find dishes in my sink! A HUGE pet peeve with me!
DSC_0060-1

Here is my little rug that I stand on many hours cooking in front of my stove, or oven. I need a better one. Not that this one isn’t great. But I need one of those fancy ones that help cushion my feet!
DSC_0063-1

And there you go! Now you know EVEN more about me! and now that you know where all the magic happens let makes some CAKE!

Recipe

1-1/2 cup All-purpose Flour
1/2 teaspoon Salt
2 teaspoons Baking Powder
1 cup (heaping) Plain, Low fat Yogurt
1 cup Sugar
3 whole Eggs
1 teaspoon Vanilla
1 whole Zest Of Lemon
1/2 cup Canola Oil
_____
ORANGE GLAZE:
1/2 cup Prepared Orange marmalade
DSC_0182-1
1/4 cup Yogurt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Spray a loaf pan with non-stick baking spray (or grease and flour it if it makes your skirt fly up). Sift together the flour,
DSC_0135-1
baking powder
DSC_0140-1
and salt.
DSC_0138-1
Set aside.

In a separate bowl, mix together 1 cup of yogurt,
DSC_0143-1

DSC_0144-1
sugar,
DSC_0147-1

DSC_0151-1
eggs,
DSC_0153-1

DSC_0155-1
vanilla,
DSC_0157-1
lemon zest,
DSC_0159-1

DSC_0160-1
and canola oil until just combined.
DSC_0167-1
Pour over dry ingredients
DSC_0169-1
and mix
DSC_0175-1
until just combined; do not over beat.

Pour into a loaf pan
DSC_0176-1
and bake for 45 minutes.
DSC_0178-1
Remove from oven and allow to cool slightly. Remove from pan.
DSC_0188-1
While cake is cooling, pour marmalade into a sauce pan.
DSC_0184-1
Heat it on low until melted,
DSC_0191-1
stirring occasionally. Add 1/4 cup of yogurt to the pan and turn off heat. Stir to combine,
DSC_0192-1
then pour slowly over the top of the cake,
DSC_0194-1
allowing icing to pool around the sides.
DSC_0196-1

DSC_0197-1

DSC_0204-1

DSC_0205-1

DSC_0227-1

Leave a Reply

