Deviled Eggs

Next on the list for appetizers on Kelli’s list is Deviled Eggs.

So I used Miracle Whip for my deviled eggs. Can’t stand them made with May-o think they are better with Miracle whip. My mom taught me to make them that way and that is what I have always stuck with.

14 whole large Eggs
DSC_0469-1
Miracle Whip
Yellow Mustard
1 teaspoon of sugar
Salt and Pepper
Smoked paprika

So when I did this recipe I boiled the eggs the night before and I boiled them for about 30 minutes. I start by putting them in a pan filled with cold water and bring it up to a boil and it takes about 30 minutes to get the yolks cooked perfectly.
DSC_0472-1
and then what I do is drain the water and put them in a big bowl to where I can fill it with water and the eggs are mostly covered in water. I find it makes them easier to peel when I do this…
DSC_0474-1

So once you let them sit all night. Take them out of the fridge and start cracking them and removing the shell
DSC_0564-1

Cut the eggs in half
DSC_0568-1

Place yolks in a med bowl
DSC_0572-1

and place the whites on a platter to where its easy to fill them
DSC_0574-1

once all eggs are cut in half and yolks are in the bowl. mash the yolks with a fork
DSC_0576-1

Mash all yolks
DSC_0578-1

then get your miracle whip out
DSC_0581-1

and take a big spoon and spoon three large spoonfulls into the smashed egg yolks,
DSC_0583-1

mix together, add more miracle whip if you need too.
DSC_0586-1

I added a 2 more spoon fulls. Mix until all incorporated
DSC_0587-1

Then get some yellow mustard
DSC_0589-1

and squeeze some out, over Miracle whip and eggs I would say 1 tablespoon, or by taste (don’t need much, and you don’t want to only taste mustard)
DSC_0591-1

Then add salt and fresh black pepper, to taste
DSC_0594-1

Then add in a teaspoon of sugar
DSC_0597-1

DSC_0598-1

mix together, really well so everything is incorporated really well
DSC_0601-1

taste it, Make sure it taste the way you want it too. and adjust seasoning as needed
DSC_0603-1

and then spoon into eggs. Or you can be all fancy like me and use a pasty bag with tip.
DSC_0605-1

Then sprinkle Smoked paprika over the top of each egg. I find that it adds a smoky flavor to the egg instead of the plain boring paprika that has no flavor and just adds color in my opinion
DSC_0608-1

DSC_0613-1

DSC_0610-1
Refrigerate. Serve cold.

Leave a Reply

