Picadillo – Normy Cooks!

So when Normy’s Titi Michy came for New Years she made us Picadillo and I LOVED IT. So we decided to try to make it at home. So Normy decided he wanted to make it.

Recipe

2 cups onion, diced
DSC_0132-1
2 cups green pepper, seeded and finely chopped
DSC_0124-1

DSC_0122-1

I Don’t have time for pictures! I am cooking here WOMAN!
DSC_0123-1

2 tablespoons olive oil for sautéing
4 cloves garlic, minced
DSC_0139-1

DSC_0141-1

DSC_0145-1

2 pounds ground beef
3 large roma tomatoes, chopped
DSC_0148-1
1 teaspoon cumin, ground
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon oregano
1/2 cup green olives, chopped
1/3 cup raisins
1/2 teaspoon salt and black pepper (to taste)
(Normy cut this recipe in half, as it was just us 2 and we didn’t need as much as the recipe called for).

DSC_0102-1

Before we start cooking, one must have some wine…
DSC_0133-1

Some Malbec please
DSC_0134-1

When cooking in Jamie’s kitchen, one must do this…
DSC_0146-1

and this… (I taught him well)
DSC_0151-1

Sauté onion and green pepper in olive oil
DSC_0152-1
in a large frying pan.
DSC_0153-1
Sauté about 5 minutes,
DSC_0154-1

DSC_0156-1

DSC_0159-1
until the onion is softened, then add the garlic and ground beef.
DSC_0162-1

DSC_0163-1
Mash the onion and green pepper into the sautéing meat and cook until the meat is browned, about 5 minutes.
DSC_0166-1

DSC_0169-1

Add the tomatoes,
DSC_0174-1
cumin, cinnamon, cloves (optional) and oregano.
DSC_0172-1
Reduce heat to low, cover and simmer for about 15 minutes.

Add olives
DSC_0179-1
and raisins
DSC_0181-1
and simmer 5 minutes longer. Salt and pepper to taste.

Serve hot over white rice
DSC_0182-1

and in our house the person who cooks doesn’t do the dishes. The person who doesn’t cook does the dishes and that lucky person was me…
I HATE DOING THE DISHES!
I HATE DOING THE DISHES!

This totally sucks!
DSC_0189-1

this is why I cook all the time…so I don’t have to do the lame dishes!

3 thoughts on “Picadillo – Normy Cooks!

  1. The picadillo that I am familiar with is used as a stuffing in foods like Chiles En Nogada. The onions and green peppers are much smaller… like the size of the ground beef. Could I pulse on a food processor?

    They also traditionally use walnuts (at least at the authentic Mexican cuisine places, not Tex-Mex). I could pulse those too, right? Oh, and half the places use currants instead of raisins, but I am not sure how that changes the flavor profile. Any ideas?

    I am really excited to see this recipe!

    1. Well this is a Cuban dish. This was the first time I ever had it, or heard of it, so not 100% sure….You could dice pepper and onion in the food processor together, and yes, you could process the walnuts too. I have never had currants, and I do not like raisins, but they are good in this dish, they add a nice sweetness.

Leave a Reply

