The Pioneer Woman’s – Twice Baked Potatoes

recipe

what you will need is:  Potatoes, Butter, Sour Cream, Cheddar/Jack Cheese, Bacon/Bacon Bits, Lawry’s Seasoned Salt, Black Pepper, milk (if necessary) and Green Onion…

FIRST THINGS FIRST: Wash, then place six baking potatoes on a cookie sheet. Bake in a 400 degree oven for 1 hour, 15 minutes, making sure they’re sufficiently cooked through. (I rubbed the outside of my potatoes with olive oil and garlic salt)

DSC_0024-1

DSC_0027-1

DSC_0029-1

I had made these for the Broncos, New England game…

I also made Bronco Cupcakes to help support our team! Russ really liked the cupcakes…
DSC_0037-1

DSC_0038-1

Mmmmmmm this is some good cupcake
DSC_0040-1

this is the best thing I’ve ever eaten, since the last time I was here…
DSC_0041-1

and since I had the dudes over for Jamie food, I thought what better time than for them to hang the cupcake picture my mom got me…
DSC_0045-1

Russ was supervising and posing for the camera
DSC_0048-1

OK so on The Pioneer Woman Recipe she calls for bacon bits, but I am sorry I had to use REAL bacon…

She does say in her recipe though:
“you are more than welcome to fry a bunch of bacon and crumble it to make one cup of bacon pieces.”

So I did just that…But I bake my bacon so it makes less of a mess…
DSC_0050-1

and I think I added more like 3 cups…

DSC_0052-1

I love bacon (have I mentioned that before).
DSC_0053-1

hey look, while the bacon cooks, I can come over here and see my sign hung up and take pictures…
DSC_0063-1

So when I cook bacon in the oven I usually cook it at 400 degrees and I get a cookie sheet and line it with Parchment paper and cook it for about 15-20 minutes until its nice and crisp…
DSC_0084-1

then I drain it on paper towels and set it aside until its cool enough to handle

Now begin slicing two sticks of butter into pats.
DSC_0088-1

Place them into a large mixing bowl.

Holy Heart Attach!
DSC_0089-1

So now onto the sour cream, another love of mine…
Measure one cup
DSC_0094-1

and add to butter
DSC_0096-1

then that bacon you set aside, chop that up, maybe put aside a few pieces too munch on and maaaybe one for the hubby lovie to have too…
DSC_0098-1

then add the bacon to the butter, and sour cream
DSC_0100-1

Now, the potatoes are all done. The reason you bake them “naked” is so the skin will be nice and firm—and strong enough to hold the filling later. Within a few minutes after you remove the baked potatoes from the oven, you need to begin scraping them out.

Cut each potato in half lengthwise.

with a large spoon, begin scraping out the insides and I added it to the butter, sour cream and bacon

Keep scraping, being careful not to tear the shell.

You should leave just a little bit in there for support, but try to remove most of it.

Lay the hollowed out potato shells on a cookie sheet.

then get you a potato masher

Begin smashing the potatoes with the other ingredients.

DSC_0104-1

keep the mixture a little bit lumpy.

DSC_0110-1

Now grab your Lawry’s Seasoned Salt, Measure about 1/4 teaspoon and add it to the bowl. You can always adjust the seasonings later. (I did).

Now add about 1 cup of grated cheddar/jack cheese and mix it in well.

then add ground black pepper, to taste

and then add in about 2/3 of sliced green onions
DSC_0111-1

And mix them in. Per Pioneer Woman: (IMPORTANT: If you plan to freeze the twice baked potatoes, do NOT add green onion. Did you know freezing chemically alters the taste of green onions? Oh, gosh, it does and it happened to me once. The potatoes were ruined. I’ve never forgotten.)

now Scoop out some of the yummy potato filling and begin filling the shells.

Keep going until the filling’s all gone. I like to fill the shells so they look abundant and heaping.

DSC_0114-1

DSC_0115-1

DSC_0116-1

Now top each potato with more grated cheddar/jack cheese
DSC_0121-1

DSC_0123-1

DSC_0126-1

While those bake, its time for some more cupcakes…
DSC_0138-1

DSC_0142-1

and Tebowing
DSC_0143-1

and goofing around…
DSC_0163-1

pop ‘em in a 350-degree oven for 15 to 20 minutes, or until the potato is warmed through.DSC_0172-1

DSC_0179-1

I recommend adding tabasco
DSC_0182-1

and Ranch dressing to your potato…
DSC_0174-1

DSC_0176-1

and don’t be skimpy with the ranch…
DSC_0176-1

and what you have are 3 happy men…
DSC_0173-1

Don’t spill any on Brownie, also known as the couch. yes I named my couch Brownie. He’s so soft and cozy, he’ll make you feel lazy and better when you are sick and he will make all your friends feel comfy too and they won’t want to get up, because he is so soft and cozy…

The End!

6 thoughts on “The Pioneer Woman’s – Twice Baked Potatoes

  1. Just found your blog. I loved your description of yourself. I read it to my husband and he said “holy crap, sounds like you two were twins separated at birth.” I have been told I could give sailors a few pointers in cursing or teach charm school at Annapolis. Although I am a die hard Bengals girl, I will be rooting right along with ya’ll for the Broncos this Superbowl. I love the Bengals and any tean who whips on Shitsburg! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

