Dan Dan Noodles

So I think I’ve done a post like this before, But it’s been awhile. So I thought I would do another one…

So wanted to show you some of my FAVORITE things in my kitchen!

I REALLY like to give tours of my kitchen. I really want to make you feel like you are there…

So this is my favorite bowl…
DSC_0451-1

it’s red and my favorite color is red. And I usually have onions and garlic in this bowl, but I switched it up, and added citrus. LOVE Citrus! I always have lemons and limes and sometimes oranges and grapefruits.

Oh and I LOVE my mixer!
DSC_0453-1

My mom got this for me on Christmas a while back and oh man does it ever get used!

It’s Heavy duty!
DSC_0456-1

So it should last me FOREVER!

 

you’ve seen this before, my spice rack…My friend Robert got this for me one year and I just love it! I wish I had 3-4 of them, it’s just so perfect and then the lady bug salt and pepper shakers were a gift from my friend Fawn. (can you tell all my favorite things are gifts from people I love).
DSC_0458-1

 

My Favorite wine!
DSC_0460-1

you will always see this on my counter. I cook with it, I drink it. I love the name and I love the flavor…I save the bottles too! I love wine bottles, I love wine. The End!

My favorite Step stool
DSC_0462-1

funny that I am adding this. But oh man, I have so many things in my kitchen and its so small and I store stuff above the fridge and in high places that I can’t reach, so this guy is so helpful to me! best $10 I spent at Bed bath and beyond, and you can tell its gotten used. see all the dings on it? those are patches of USE!

My favorite two pots to cook with…
DSC_0497-1

 

My le creuset pot that Normy got me…You feel sophisticated just saying it…le creuset…oh and its RED!
DSC_0498-1

and our Cast Iron Skillet
DSC_0495-1

looks dirty, but that is seasoning! from being used!

Normy and I got that skillet in Kansas City, Missouri when we went and saw my Grand Parents and I am sorry to say we got it all Wal-Mart (I don’t like Wal-Mart). But its the best damn pan ever!

and my favorite Picture on my Fridge…LOVE HER!
DSC_0525-1

The Pioneer woman, I like, love her and she inspires me! So I keep her close to inspire me every time I go into my fridge!

when you cook and bake and stand you get thirsty
DSC_0523-1

this is my favorite cup to drink water out of. hahahaha Funny that it’s KISS as I don’t really care for KISS. But I do LOVE how big this cup is. I fill it with ice a couple big splashes of lemon juice and then fill it the rest of the way with water and drink away while I cook!

and then My favorite person to have in my kitchen…Normy, or Norman…
DSC_0450-1

he’s always washing dishes for me, hanging pictures (like here) for me. Taking out the trash, tasting food and sometimes cooks for me too! he’s the best Helper ever. He also inspires me and I’m always trying to make him the perfect meal!

OK now that you know some of my favorites in my kitchen, lets do what I LOVE, COOOOOOK!

recipe

12 ounces Shanghai-style noodles or udon
DSC_0469-1

3 tablespoons vegetable oil
DSC_0470-1

3/4 pound ground pork
DSC_0475-1

Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
DSC_0478-1

2 tablespoons chopped peeled ginger (I used pickled)
DSC_0479-1

3/4 cup chicken stock
DSC_0482-1

2 tablespoons chili oil, or to taste
2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
DSC_0484-1

2 tablespoons soy sauce
DSC_0487-1

4 teaspoons tahini (sesame seed paste) >>> I couldn’t find this stuff so I used:
DSC_0489-1
Pinch of sugar
4 tablespoons chopped roasted peanuts
DSC_0491-1

1 bunch scallions, thinly sliced
DSC_0493-1

DSC_0465-1

Bring a large pot of water to boil and add the noodles.
DSC_0510-1
Cook until tender but still slightly firm to the bite, then drain and transfer to a bowl of ice water to quickly chill. Drain well.

In a large (12-inch) skillet or wok, heat oil over medium-high heat until smoking. Add pork and a pinch of salt and pepper
DSC_0501-1

My favorite meat masher/grinder – Gotta love Papered Chef.
DSC_0502-1

DSC_0504-1

and cook until partially cooked but still half pink.
DSC_0509-1

Add ginger and continue cooking until pork is cooked through and starting to brown.

Stir in chicken stock, chili oil, red wine vinegar, soy sauce, Sesame oil. Season with a little sugar, then bring to a boil and simmer until the sauce thickens, 7-10 minutes.

Add noodles to the skillet
DSC_0512-1

and toss well in the sauce.
DSC_0514-1

Once noodles are heated through, taste for salt and sugar. Transfer to bowls and top with peanuts and scallions. Serve immediately.
DSC_0516-1

DSC_0521-1

Leave a Reply

