Spicy Asian Cucumber Salad

As everyone knows who reads my blog regularly or just knows me, knows that I LOVE cucumbers! LOVE! I could eat them every day of my life and NEVER get sick of them ever! When we go to the store I usually by 3-6 cucumbers, never just 1 or 2 and if I do buy 2 we have to go back and get more cause I have eaten them all! My favorite ones are English Cucumbers! They are the BEST! Not bitter like the regular ones can get. So yep I am talking about cucumbers so I am going to share with you a cucumber recipe…

So the place in my new apt where I set all my ingredients to take a picture is right by this outlet so if you notice in the last couple of posts there is that DAMN outlet! Thinking I need to move where I set up my ingredients huh?

Recipe

(damn you outlet)
DSC_0123-1
1/2 c. rice vinegar
2 T sugar
2 T fresh lime juice
2 T fresh ginger, minced
1 1/2 T red chile, minced (about one large chile) ( couldn’t find these so I used a Serrano chile)
1 T toasted sesame oil
3 cucumbers, peeled, seeded and cut crosswise into 1/4-in. pieces
4 scallions, white and light green parts, sliced thin
1/4 c. loosely packed fresh basil leaves, chopped
DSC_0140-1

Salt and pepper.

And a side of outlet

Bring the vinegar
DSC_0124-1

and sugar
DSC_0125-1

DSC_0127-1

to a boil over medium-high heat.
DSC_0126-1

DSC_0128-1

Reduce heat to medium-low, then simmer until mixture is reduced by half (the recipe says this takes about 5 or 6 minutes, but I find it takes longer than that). Transfer to a medium box and allow to cool.

Whisk into the mixture the lime juice,
DSC_0129-1

DSC_0131-1

ginger,
DSC_0133-1

DSC_0134-1

DSC_0135-1

chile
DSC_0137-1

and sesame oil.
DSC_0138-1

DSC_0139-1

Toss in the cucumbers, scallions and basil.
DSC_0142-1

DSC_0144-1

Season with salt and pepper. Chill for 10 minutes or up to 1 hour.

Serve.
DSC_0147-1

Leave a Reply

