Citrus Roast Chicken with Chimichurri

The nice thing about working so close to home is that on my lunch if I need to prep something for dinner I can…It’s good and bad. Good for dinner time, bad if I wanna relax on my lunch. HA! Me? Relax? What is that word? If I need to marinate some meat for a couple of hours, just pop home for lunch make the marinate and let it sit in there till we eat.  I take a late lunch, I go at 2, and I get an hour so when I get back its 3 and then I only have 2 hours of work left…I like eating late, going to lunch late, eating dinner late, going to bed late, late to work, I am just always late! Jamie McLate!

Recipe

1 1/2 teaspoon mild chili powder
1 1/2 teaspoon paprika
1 teaspoon ground cumin
DSC_0094-1

juice of 1/2 orange
DSC_0097-1

DSC_0098-1

1 teaspoon orange zest
DSC_0100-1

juice of 2 limes or 1/2 lemon
1 teaspoon lime or lemon zest
DSC_0103-1

3-5 minced garlic cloves
DSC_0106-1

1/2 bunch cilantro, finely minced
DSC_0108-1

2-3 tablespoons olive oil
2 teaspoons salt
1 large roasting chicken
DSC_0093-1

Preheat the oven at 325 degrees.

Mix ingredients except for the chicken and set aside.
DSC_0109-1

Rinse and clean chicken thoroughly; pat dry. Carefully separate the skin from the muscle all over the bird to allow room for the rub to absorb into the bird.

Liberally coat the chicken under its skin all over breasts and thighs with the rub and also coat the inside cavity.
DSC_0113-1

Transfer the coated chicken into a roasting pan, resting on the roasting rack.
DSC_0116-1

DSC_0117-1

Roast chicken uncovered in the preheated oven for 55-60 minutes, depending on how large your bird is. Roast until the internal temperature of the bird is 165 degrees and juices run clear.

Remove bird from the oven and cover with foil, allowing it to rest for at least 10-15 minutes. Meanwhile, prepare the chimichurri sauce below, which is served along side of the chicken as a condiment.

Chimichurri

1/4 cup coarsely chopped parsley (I did 1/4 cup Parsley and 1/4 cup Cilantro)
3 tablespoons red wine vinegar
4 large garlic cloves, minced (2 1/2 tablespoons)
2 tablespoons oregano leaves
2 teaspoons crushed red pepper
Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper
1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil
DSC_0118-1

In a food processor, combine the parsley,
DSC_0120-1

vinegar,
DSC_0123-1

garlic,
DSC_0124-1

oregano
DSC_0126-1

and crushed red pepper.
DSC_0129-1

Process until smooth; season with salt and pepper. Transfer the sauce to a bowl and pour the olive oil over the mixture. Let stand for at least 20 minutes.
DSC_0140-1

Serve with grilled steaks and/or chicken and garnish with fresh chopped tomatoes if desired.

DSC_0135-1

DSC_0137-1

DSC_0143-1

3 thoughts on “Citrus Roast Chicken with Chimichurri

    1. And this makes me happy! Not to many people comment! And I thought of doing away with my blog! But then you comment and remind me that people do read it! So the I keep going…So thank you!

Leave a Reply

