Seven-Layer Tostadas

I have been a busy bee since the last time I posted, and that’s why I haven’t posted in a while either…Had a cupcake order for a wedding, made 392 cupcakes and a cake. I had planned for this order for a month! I was SO excited for it. My first wedding order! So then after the big cupcake order, I literally dropped the cupcakes off and hit the road for a 10 hour drive to Kansas City, Spent the long weekend there with family and got to see my friend Fawn, then headed home and back to work, then the day after I got back got another cupcake order, then had a day off and then another cupcake order and volunteered myself too cook dinner for my hubby and is buds, then I haven’t felt good the past few days. Over did it, imagine that! So here I am making a post…Incase you wanted to know what I have been up too…

So I am behind on posting to, so let’s get to it…

recipe 

1 can (16 oz.) refried pinto beans
I added a pound of ground turkey
1 1/2 cups guacamole (homemade)
DSC_0006-1

Taco Seasoning
1 cup finely grated low-fat cheese such as Four Cheese Mexican Blend (or more if you like a lot of cheese)
1 cup chopped tomatoes
1/2 cup chopped onions
DSC_0004-1

1/2 cup sliced black olives (or use a 4 oz. can sliced olives)
6-8 whole wheat flour tortillas, 6 or 8 inch inch size
olive oil for greasing baking sheet, about 1 tsp.

I also add in chopped tomatoes
DSC_0005-1

Place a baking sheet inside the oven or toaster oven and let it get hot while you preheat oven to 450F/230C, about 10 minutes. Carefully remove baking sheet, drizzle a tiny bit of olive oil on it and spread around with a paper towel, and put flour tortillas on the baking sheet. Toast tortillas in the oven until they’re crisp and barely starting to brown, turning several times. This will take less than 5 minutes so watch them carefully.

While tortillas are crisping, put the refried beans in a pot and cook until they’re hot. Stir the Taco Seasoning Mix into the ground turkey. Chop the onions, slice the olives. (If you’re using homemade guacamole and cheese that needs to be grated you’ll need to prepare those as well.)

Put crisped tortilla shell on a plate and top with:
DSC_0010-1

I topped mine with a tiny bit of beans, as I don’t like beans. Then I did a layer of of ground turkey
DSC_0012-1

Then I added grated Cheddar Cheese
DSC_0014-1

add tomatoes
DSC_0015-1

onions
DSC_0016-1

olives
DSC_0017-1

Guacamole and Salsa
DSC_0018-1

DSC_0021-1

DSC_0023-1

Serve right away. You can keep the topping ingredients in the fridge and crisp more tortillas later to use any leftovers.

You could totally add Sour Cream, I cut it out as I was trying to be a little healthier and cut it out…But it would of been a nice addition.

One thought on “Seven-Layer Tostadas

Leave a Reply

