Tangy Marinara Sauce and Angel Hair Pasta

I love to hike! Think I told you all this before. But in case you forgot I am telling you again. One of the (many) reasons I LOVE living in Colorado is because of it’s mountains. I also like living here for the dryness. I like dry. I can’t handle humidity, it kicks my butt! Not sure how people live in humidity? Just like I am sure people can’t handle the dryness of Colorado. So when I hike I am like a little kid and I look for Ladybugs and when I spot one I get all excited and have to stop and take pictures. It’s quite a sight let me tell you. But I don’t care. I love ladybugs!

Let’s do some hiking

DSC_0204-1
DSC_0210-1

See The Ladybug?
DSC_0197-1

Another Ladybug
DSC_0183-1

Come on Woman, are we hiking, or taking pictures?
DSC_0217-1

DSC_0220-1

Another Ladybug
DSC_0231-1

DSC_0235-1

We are here!
DSC_0206-1

DSC_0238-1

as we were leaving we saw this…
DSC_0241-1

I need to hike and workout, so that I can eat all the delicious foods I make!

Like dishes like this one…

Recipe

2 cans tomato sauce (15 ounces)
1 clove garlic (diced)
½ cup diced onion
¼ teaspoon red pepper flakes
½ cup water
¼ teaspoon ground pepper
½ teaspoon dried parsley
½ teaspoon dried basil
½ teaspoon dried oregano
1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
1 ½ teaspoons white vinegar
¼ teaspoon salt (or salt to taste)
5 1/2 teaspoons grated parmesan cheese (reserve 4 teaspoons for topping the pasta)
2 tablespoons olive oil
4 servings of angel hair pasta (or your favorite pasta)
DSC_0242-1

Dice the onion.
DSC_0245-1

Add the olive oil to a pot and turn the heat to low.
DSC_0246-1

Add the diced onions to the heated oil and stir continuously so the onions don’t turn brown.
DSC_0247-1

Dice the garlic.

As the onions start to turn translucent, add the diced garlic and continue stirring.
DSC_0249-1

Add the red pepper flakes and continue stirring.
DSC_0250-1

DSC_0251-1

Then stir in the tomato sauce.
DSC_0252-1

DSC_0253-1

Add the water.
DSC_0254-1

Add the ground pepper, dried parsley,
DSC_0255-1
dried basil and dried oregano.

Stir all of the herbs and pepper into the sauce.
DSC_0258-1

Add the Worcestershire sauce
DSC_0259-1

and vinegar.
DSC_0260-1

Add 1 ½ teaspoons Parmesan cheese.
DSC_0262-1

DSC_0264-1

Stir all ingredients together and salt to taste.
DSC_0267-1

Simmer on low heat for 45 minutes to an hour.
DSC_0267-1

Approximately 5 minutes before serving the dish, add the angel hair pasta to boiling water.

Cook the pasta for approximately 2 to 3 minutes.

Drain the pasta and serve with the marinara sauce.

Top each serving with the remaining grated Parmesan cheese.
DSC_0270-1

DSC_0273-1

Leave a Reply

