Father’s Day Chicken for Dad

Posted one year ago:

Steak al la Jamie

Garlic Butter Roasted Mushrooms

Jamie’s Cajun Potatoes

Roast chicken with Dijon sauce

To die for blueberry muffins

So Father’s Day was June 17th. So for my Dad I made him a fabulous Jamie dinner (imagine that). Hey I think the best gifts you can give are homemade ones! I love to cook homemade so that’s what I made my pops!

First things first, Preheat your oven to 250 degrees

Get a whole chicken, a big one, a 6 pounder
DSC_0042-1

So I washed the bird and pulled the guts out and dabbed it with paper towels, then put it in a roasting pan or as I did in my le creuset. I started with breast side down to season it with Salt & Pepper & BBQ Rub from Kansas City and Liquid smoke
DSC_0049-1

DSC_0047-1

DSC_0045-1

Then I turned it over and did the same but really seasoned it with the BBQ Rub on top
DSC_0051-1

Seasoned it with these 4 things
DSC_0054-1

DSC_0057-1

DSC_0061-1

Then I took 3 pieces of bacon and cut them in half and then layed them across the top of the chicken. My thinking was as the chicken and bacon cooks the bacon grease would run down onto the breasts and keep them nice and moist, aaaaand my dad LOVES bacon!
DSC_0063-1

This Chicken would make ANY man happy!
DSC_0064-1

DSC_0067-1

DSC_0068-1

So pop the chicken in the oven, covered for 5 hours…

My Dad
DSC_0101-1

Normy made Garlic Mashed potatoes for Dad too…No recipe really…Just cube a bunch of potatoes and boil them till soft, then drain
DSC_0106-1

Then get a stick of butter and melt it in a skillet and chop up a bunch of garlic cloves and saute, until you smell the garlic
DSC_0104-1

Add some sour cream and Salt and pepper to the drained potatoes
DSC_0113-1

Then pour the melted butter and sautéed garlic over the potatoes
DSC_0114-1

VERY Healthy for you!
DSC_0115-1

DSC_0116-1

DSC_0117-1

Then start mashing…
DSC_0118-1

add some cheese
DSC_0119-1

mash some more
DSC_0121-1

DSC_0123-1

Maybe the potatoes need more Sour Cream
DSC_0125-1

So this is what Normy added to his mashed taters
DSC_0127-1
Pepper (and salt, but its not in this picture)
Milk
Sour Cream
Parmesan Cheese

Now back to the chicken
so after the chicken has baked for 5 hours covered I uncovered it and baked it at 350 for another 20-30 minutes to crisp the skin and bacon.
DSC_0126-1

I think its done…
DSC_0129-1

So Normy got my dad some beer for Father’s Day and my dad was having himself a pretty good time with that beer Normy got him

Untitled

DSC_0142-1

Look at that Farmer’s Tan

DSC_0145-1

Hey I know you!

DSC_0149-1

So once you bake the chicken for another 20-30 minutes or until the thermometer is 185 degrees (that’s what I cooked mine too) pull it out and let it rest for about 10 minutes. Then start cutting that bird up….
DSC_0151-1

Check out the dinner we made my dad…
DSC_0155-1

Chicken
Norman Cheesy, Garlic Potatoes
and Broccoli Salad

Happy Father’s Day Dad!
DSC_0153-1

Leave a Reply

