The Potato Post!

So if you read my blog on a regular basis, you know some stuff about me…and you know that I LOVE potatoes! LOVE! Normy prefers rice and I prefer potatoes. (and I think I’ve said that before on my blog). When I cook, I like to do a protein, a starch and a veggie or salad (a green as I call it).  I tell Normy all the time: You need your GREENS!

So when choosing a starch, I lean more towards potatoes. Red, Yukon, Russet, Sweet Potatoes (I need to eat more of those). So I thought I would do a post with potatoes!

We will start with a recipe I got from an old co-worker Vern. We went to his house for a BBQ and I was introduced to these potatoes and they were AMAZING! So I HAD to get the recipe and I did and I made these babies and you should too!
Cheesey Potatoes
Cheesy potatoes

I need to make them again with step by step pictures!

This is a good one, It’s a dip, but I made homemade potato chips to go with this dip. Homemade potato chips yummmmy. Makes me want to make some right now!

Bacon onion dip with homemade potato chips

homemade Potato chips with Bacon, Onion Dip

I LOVE Au Gratin Potatoes. They remind me of growing up. My mom used to make ham and potatoes. So this dish reminded me of that. I thought about adding ham. I should next time!

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

P1670563-1

I wanted to post these because they are easy and yummy and different. I am all about different! I like to make new and different things!

Potato Cups in muffin tins

and look at the little dabs of butter on top! You know they are good!
P1690678-1

These are fun!

Rosemary Garlic Hasselback Potatoes
DSC_0354-1

I’ll post this recipe cause I made it last year for 4th of July and that was this past Wednesday. So I felt it was appropriate.

Bacon, Ranch Potato Salad

DSC_0114-1

 

I’ll post this one, cause well I LOVE dill!
Dill Mashed Potatoes

Mt. Dill Mashed Potatoes
DSC_0129-1

 

Gotta Post these cause they are Pioneer Woman! Crash Hot Potatoes

DSC_0317-1

Gotta post these because they have BACON!

Potatoes al la Amy

Look at the bacon GOODNESS!
DSC_0053-1

 

These are just LOVE! (if you notice a lot of my potato recipes have bacon and they seem to be my favorite ones).

Pioneer Woman’s twice baked potatoes

DSC_0126-1

 

This is a long post. and it’s one of the hardest dishes I make, but the best dish! And you add potatoes to it.

Duchess Potatoes

DSC_0411-1

 

I am posting this one because to me its pretty. I love all the fresh herbs! I think Fresh Herbs make everything better!

Roasted potatoes with fresh green herbs

DSC_0382-1

 

These are one of the best potato recipes I have ever made! If you want a potato recipe that won’t disappoint, this is the ONE!

Restaurant style smashed potatoes

DSC_0389-1

 

I love leaks!
Potato and Leek Rosti

DSC_0402-1

 

If you want a good, hardy breakfast before a big hike, eat this!
Potatoes with bacon, onion, bell pepper topped with eggs, cheese and green onion Jamie Goodness

DSC_0407-1

 

If you want something that is SO bad for you and is about 1 million calories, but OH SO good. MAKE these! These are so good, but this is the kind of dish you only make once a year!
Funeral Potatoes

(maybe they are called “Funeral Potatoes”  because they are so bad for you, that you may have a heart attach after you eat them from all the butter) HA!

DSC_0061-1

 

Another Pioneer Woman Recipe (I love her).
Fluffy New Potatoes
DSC_0105-1

 

These are yummy! I like the crunchiness the bread crumbs give these potatoes!
Oven Baked garlic Parmesan fries
DSC_0221-1

 

This is by far my FAVORITE Breakfast (potato) dish, LOVE IT!
Farmers Casserole
DSC_0075-1

and since I am doing an ode to potato post, why not do a NEW potato recipe! Brought to you by Jamie, Made by Jamie!

Let’s DO THIS!

So I bought this big bag of red Yukon potatoes from Costco, so I have been trying to use them up. 10 pound bag…
DSC_0098-1

so take desired amount of potatoes you think you will need. We had Russ over the night I made these so I made more potatoes for the 3 of us.

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees

Then wash the potatoes and place them on a paper towel
(I always start every potato recipe like this)

DSC_0099-1

Chop up the potatoes and place them in a medium-sized bowl
DSC_0102-1

Then dice up a yellow onion
DSC_0104-1

add those to the bowl with the potatoes
DSC_0106-1

then add vegetable oil to bowl, just eye ball it (As Rachael Ray would say)
DSC_0108-1

Stir

Then add Garlic salt, to taste
DSC_0110-1

and freshly ground black pepper
DSC_0112-1

Stir

Then add seasoning salt, to taste
DSC_0115-1

Stir

Then pour everything in cast iron skillet (any excuse to use my cast iron, I LOVES IT)
DSC_0119-1

Place pan into the preheated oven
DSC_0121-1

bake for about 45 minute flipping potatoes a couple of times

then add in one thinly sliced jalapeno (with seeds)
DSC_0163-1

bake for another 15 minutes
DSC_0179-1

DSC_0181-1

then turn oven off, and pull pan out of oven and add in some grated/shredded Monterrey Jack cheese
DSC_0183-1

and place a piece of foil or a lid over pan to cover for about 5 minutes to melt the cheese
DSC_0189-1

they are crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside and the jalapeno gives them a nice kick!

 

HI YA!

Leave a Reply

