BBQ Baked Chicken Leg Quarters

Happy Thursday! One more day Till FRIDAY!! I love Fridays! Especially Friday’s at 5PM! That’s my Favorite time of the week! Least Favorite time of the week: 6AM Monday morning Grrr and stuff!

So I made this recipe up, all on my own! I RULE!

When I made this dish, Normy and I hiked a 14er earlier in the day…well we tried…That 14er kicked our butts! We couldn’t finish! LAME! I was so mad! Then we got caught in a sleet storm at about 13,000 feet on the side of a mountain, that’s fun. Everyone should try it! Especially when the wind is blowing and the sleet gets in your ear! Oh man, best time ever! NOT!

A 14er may kick your butt and make you cuss, but it sure is pretty to hike and you get a great workout too!
Untitled

I picked this 14er to hike because I read online that it was one of the easier one. They LIED! SO NOT TRUE!
Untitled

Like the sign says:

Untitled

I think it was one of the hardest ones I’ve done…
DSC_0126-1

YEAH RIGHT!
DSC_0141-1

Are we there yet?

DSC_0147-1

Damn it! Can’t make it! Grrrr Turn around!

DSC_0154-1

One of the BEST parts of our hike was when we were leaving. We saw a whole bunch of people pulled over on the side of the road in this one area, holding up traffic. We were like oh probably some deer. So we looked and we saw this:
DSC_0191-1

So we HAD to turn around and get closer so I could get a picture, not every day you see a moose in Colorado. I mean we have them here but I have lived here my whole life and this is only the 2nd time I’ve seen them, a momma and baby!

OK now onto the coooooking. I thought of this while we were hiking back!

Preheat your oven to 300 degrees

Instead of doing a whole chicken like I usually do, I thought it would be fun to do something different like Chicken Leg Quarters
DSC_0197-1

I used two, one for me and one for Normy.
DSC_0198-1

Then get some BBQ rub
DSC_0199-1

Coat an oven proof pan with olive oil and rub the chicken with it too and then rub the chicken quarters down really good with the rub a dub dub, both sides
DSC_0200-1

DSC_0201-1

DSC_0203-1

then get a BBQ brush and brush both sides with you favorite BBQ sauce
and place pan in the preheated oven
DSC_0206-1

DSC_0207-1

bake for about 2 hours or until internal temp is 185 degrees and then turn the oven up to 400 to get the skin nice and crispy. Then pull out of oven to cool.
DSC_0221-1

Let chicken rest for 10-15 minutes.

Then Serve
DSC_0223-1

DSC_0225-1

Only4 ingredients to make this dish! Winning!

Leave a Reply

