Authentic Mexican Rice

So this recipe right here, this very one will be my 1,000 post I’ve done on my blog!

WOOOOO HOOOOO!

So last Wednesday we had my mother in law Evelyn over for dinner. I was making Pernil which is pork butt/or shoulder Puerto Rican style.

So I seasoned the pork shoulder with salt, Pepper, Oregano, lots of garlic, olive oil, Balsamic vinegar, little bit of lime juice
DSC_0281-1

Let it marinate overnight, then threw it in a pot and baked it for a few hours!

Untitled

Then I made this rice to go with it:
1 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil or vegetable oil
1 cup uncooked long grain white rice
DSC_0296-1

2 cups warm water
1 1/2 tsp Caldo de Tomate (I use Knorr brand)
1/2 tsp onion powder
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper
1/4 tsp chili powder

DSC_0286-1

In a mixing bowl whisk together water, Caldo de Tomate,
DSC_0288-1

DSC_0289-1

DSC_0290-1

onion powder,
DSC_0291-1

garlic powder, black pepper
DSC_0293-1

and chili powder,
DSC_0294-1

DSC_0295-1

set aside.

Drizzle oil into a non-stick saucepan and heat over medium high heat. Add rice
DSC_0298-1

DSC_0299-1

and cook several minutes, stirring constantly
DSC_0300-1

until rice is slightly puffed and golden. Add water mixture to rice
DSC_0301-1

DSC_0302-1

DSC_0303-1

then stir and cover pan with lid. Reduce heat to low and allow rice to simmer for 20-25 minutes until water has been absorbed (you’ll notice water bubbles stop coming to the surface). Remove from heat, fluff rice with a fork, cover with lid and allow to rest 5 minutes. Serve warm.

I added some chopped onion and cilantro to the rice
DSC_0311-1

then I asked normy’s mom for help on making the Tostones (fried Plantains).
DSC_0305-1

DSC_0306-1

DSC_0308-1

Untitled

Then there is the pork all finished and shredded up
DSC_0309-1

normy’s mom also helped with the beans too!
DSC_0315-1

Let’s EAT!
DSC_0314-1

DSC_0316-1

DSC_0318-1

 

3 thoughts on “Authentic Mexican Rice

  1. Congratulations on your 1000th post honey! I’m very proud of you and i feel pretty dang lucky that i get to eat all of these delicious meals. Mmm Pork…

  2. Hi! Everything looks delicious. I love making Puerto Rican food. Was that your first time making Mexican style rice? Look forward to seeing more posts of yours.
    Sincerely,
    Amanda

  3. you are awesome thanku for all these wonderful recipes. my grandmother is. from Puerto Rico and my husband is from Mexico. and I’m going to try these out. they look amazing! muchas gracias from hawaii.

Leave a Reply

