Another Marinara sauce recipe for you…

One Year ago: Grilled Summer squash
Carolina style barbecue chicken
Buttered Rosemary Rolls

Hello Boys and Girls I have another Marinara sauce recipe for you! I know! YOU ARE SO EXCITED! Another marinara sauce recipe! Because I don’t have enough already! HA! You can NEVER have too many marinara sauce recipes or too much bacon!

OK this is what you will need…

DSC_0260-1

That’s a LOT of stuff for marinara huh?

I actually was dreading posting this recipe because there is so much that goes into this sauce and it will take me a while to post it…

OK so here is a list:
herbs de provence
Onion Salt
Dried Basil
Dried Oregano
Garlic Salt
Dried Thyme
Balsamic Vinegar
Fresh Basil
Chianti wine (For the sauce and for sipping while you cook)
1 14.5 oz can fired roasted diced tomatoes
3 28oz cans of whole peeled San Marzano tomatoes
6oz can tomato paste
1 28oz can crushed tomatoes
1 red onion, chopped
1 red bell pepper, chopped
Kosher Salt
Freshly ground black pepper
Garlic cloves
light brown sugar
Olive oil (not in picture, forgot to add it sorry)

So start by chopping the onion and red bell pepper. You can chop whatever size you want. I did a small dice. But if you want your sauce more chunky you could chop into bigger chunks.

Then get a dutch oven or a big pot and preheat the pan to medium high heat and coat the bottom of the pan with olive oil

DSC_0265-1

then add in the red onion that you chopped up
DSC_0268-1

Cook that for 7-10 minutes or until onions are translucent

while the onions are cooking smash and dice up 4-6 garlic cloves, depending how much you like garlic…
add that to the onions
DSC_0270-1

stir in garlic and cook for a minute or 2 until you really smell the garlic
DSC_0274-1

then add in the chopped red bell pepper
and stir in
DSC_0275-1

then add in the most important part of the sauce…The Red wine…

I just guessed and added what looked good…no not the whole bottle. I would say about 1/2 a cup
DSC_0279-1

DSC_0281-1

then after adding in the red wine, I thought to myself hey, I should add white wine too…
so I added this kind…
DSC_0282-1

about 1/4 a cup
DSC_0284-1

then let this cook for a few and stir in the wines together with the veggies
DSC_0285-1

Then add in the 2nd most important part of the sauce, The San Marzano Tomatoes
DSC_0277-1

DSC_0287-1

these tomatoes, make this sauce man!
DSC_0289-1

then add in the crushed tomatoes
DSC_0291-1

DSC_0292-1

Then add in the fire roasted tomatoes
DSC_0293-1

DSC_0295-1

Then I decided to add in a cup of water to cut the tomatoes a little
DSC_0296-1

Then here comes the herbs…I did these all on taste.
So start with the herbs de provence
DSC_0298-1

then the onion salt
DSC_0299-1

Dried basil
DSC_0300-1

then give the sauce a nice stir
DSC_0301-1

then continue adding in the herbs

Dried Oregano
DSC_0302-1

Garlic Salt, Dried Thyme
DSC_0303-1

and then I added in flat leaf Italian parsley too
DSC_0304-1

give that sauce a nice stir again
DSC_0305-1

Then add in the fresh basil
DSC_0306-1

and Kosher salt
DSC_0307-1

Then add in the Balsamic Vinegar
DSC_0309-1

about 1/4 a cup
DSC_0310-1

then the tomato paste
DSC_0311-1

here’s another picture of the spices I used
DSC_0313-1

finally I added in light Brown Sugar. add in about 3 tbsp. (I did half a cup and the sauce was WAY too sweet) so for you, add in 3 tbsp…

stir everything together
DSC_0325-1

I let the sauce simmer for 3 hours.

yes 3 hours on med low and stirred occasionally

To me, the longer it simmers the better it tastes…make it on a Sunday afternoon like I did..
DSC_0326-1

after simmering for 3 hours. I cooked some spaghetti noodles and some spicy Italian sausage. Added the noodles to a bowl and topped with the sausage and sauce and freshly grated parmesan cheese
DSC_0329-1

and it was fabulous!

The End

One thought on “Another Marinara sauce recipe for you…

Leave a Reply

