Heirloom Tomato Caprese Salad

So I just made this up one night! I went to Whole Foods to get some Heirloom Tomatoes because they were on sale. I was going to make a cucumber, tomato salad, but decided that’s what I always make so I will do something different, and saw that they also had fresh mozzarella on sale too. So went with that…

So you will need
Heirloom Tomatoes (I went with 3)
8 oz Fresh Mozzarella (or more if you like)
Salt & Pepper (to taste)
Fresh Basil (of course)
and I made an olive oil, balsamic vinegar dressing to go on my salad. You could just drizzle olive oil and balsamic separate if you want…
DSC_0430-1

So start by washing and slicing the tomatoes and then slicing the mozzarella the same size as the tomatoes and arrange on a plate starting with tomato, then cheese, then tomato then cheese until all slices are on the plate and arranged very nicely (all about presentation to me). Then add salt and pepper.
DSC_0432-1

DSC_0435-1

then take basil leaves and chop that up (or leave them whole and place in between the tomatoes and cheese) and then sprinkle over the tomatoes and cheese.
DSC_0437-1

DSC_0440-1

Then when you are ready to eat take a couple of slices of tomato and cheese and lay on a plate for yourself and then drizzle with olive oil and balsamic vinegar, or dressing like mine…and eat and MMMMMMMMMMM
DSC_0451-1

I love Heirloom tomatoes! SO MUCH FLAVOR!

One thought on “Heirloom Tomato Caprese Salad

Leave a Reply

