Cajun Chicken Thighs

I had another recipe picked out when I made the recipe that I am sharing now…I wasn’t feeling the recipe I had picked so I just went with this make it up as you go recipe. Easy and delicious, and nutritious!

My inspiration for this recipe was from my blog friend Lori…(my #1 fan)

I was like hmmm well I got me some chicken thighs….

hmmm I should put BBQ sauce on them! NO! I always do BBQ sauce….

hmmm lemon pepper? NO, I always do that on whole chickens.

MMM CAJUN spice! ding ding ding! with the creole seasoning from Lori! YES!

We have a winner! I was like mmmm Lori would like these thighs! Sure wish she was here right now so I could meet her face to face and cook for her too! She would be one happy lady, NOT only cause she got to meet me, but yeah my food is kinda awesome too! hahaha

So before we get to the meat! Preheat your oven to 425 degrees and get a cast iron skillet and oil it up a little and place it in the oven for about 10 minutes and get it nice and hot…smoking hot! You’re going to need more than one pan, if you are cooking as many thighs as I did!

OK lets do this!

All you need is:
Freshly ground black pepper
Cajun blackening seasoning (optional)
and the BEST Creole seasoning EVER!
and chicken thighs, skin on and bone in. (you could do no skin and boneless) But skin on and bone in to me, they just taste better and more juicier! and I LOVE the skin! mmmm So bad for you! But oh man tastes so good!

Super easy recipe! You’ll love me for it!

DSC_0053-1

and of course I got the BIG package of chicken thighs when there is only Normy and me. So I decided to use the chicken thighs for 2 meals!

so place one layer of chicken thighs in a big bowl and sprinkle both sides with freshly ground pepper and Cajun spices, LOTS! You can NEVER have too much Cajun spice!

Then do another layer of chicken thighs, season both sides
DSC_0056-1

until all chicken is all seasoned
DSC_0058-1

MMMMMM I love me some dark meat!

so I have 3 cast iron skillets. I LOVE cast iron, can you tell? if you haven’t used cast iron well you need to start. and if you have used cast iron well you know what I am talking about!

So got my pans all nice and oiled and smoking hot by placing them in a 400 degree oven for about 10 minutes and then threw about 4 thighs into each skillet
DSC_0062-1

mmmm They sizzled when I threw them in the pan, that’s love right there!
DSC_0063-1

so throw them all in the skillet and close that oven and let them bake for 10 minutes then flip them and bake for another 10 minutes, then flip them again and bake for 10 more minutes, I did this about 4 times to = 40 minutes or until the internal temp is 165 degrees.

So when you pull these babies out they should look like this…
DSC_0066-1

DSC_0069-1

So then I cover each pan with foil for about 10 minutes and let them cool down a little then take the foil off and let them cool for another 5 minutes…
DSC_0071-1

Love Love Love
DSC_0073-1

DSC_0075-1

and dinner is served my friends!!

DSC_0080-1

5 thoughts on “Cajun Chicken Thighs

  1. If I made this with no skin, no bone, would I still cook them at 400 degrees for 40 minutes or would it be less?

Leave a Reply

