Chile Colorado Burritos – Man food!

Found this recipe on Pinterest. Seems that is where I am finding all my recipes these days!

I picked this recipe because I liked the name: Chile Colorado Burritos, Hey that’s where I LIVE Colorado!

I also liked it because it called for a few ingredients.

I am not a HUGE fan of slow cooker recipes, but thought this would be good, so I decided to make it and glad I did because it was good!

So I made this on a Monday, so some people do “meatless Monday” so instead I did  “Man food Monday” (Made that up, all on my own). Because football was on and Normy was watching his Broncos, so I made him man food to go with his Monday night football…

Recipe

Untitled

1 1/2 to 2 pounds stew meat or other beef cubed (top sirloin is great)
1 large can mild enchilada sauce* (at least 19 oz.)
2 beef bouillon cubes
1/2 can refried beans (optional)
5-7 burrito size flour tortillas
1 cup or so of shredded cheddar cheese (I used shredded Monterrey Jack Cheese)
DSC_0246-1

Put beef, bouillon, and enchilada sauce into a crock pot
DSC_0249-1

and cook on low for 7-8 hours**, or until meat is very tender.

30 minutes before the beef was done I added a small can of chopped green chilis to my sauce and it added a something a little extra to the meat (I think).

When beef is done (very tender and flakes off when stirred), taste and add more salt, if desired. Heat up refried beans. Lay out a tortilla. Place on tortilla about 1/2 cup of the meat,
DSC_0255-1

drained by using a slotted spoon, and a spoonful or two of beans. (I didn’t add beans to mine, as I am not a fan)

Roll into a burrito. Pour some of the remaining enchilada sauce from the crock pot over the burrito to cover it. Sprinkle with some cheddar cheese.
DSC_0256-1

Broil until cheese is bubbly, about 2-4 minutes.

Serve.

Here are the fix-in’s I had for our burritos:
Tomato
onion
avocado
lettuce
more cheese
and cilantro
DSC_0252-1

DSC_0261-1

DSC_0262-1

DSC_0265-1

DSC_0266-1

Leave a Reply

