Creamy, Tomato, Basil Soup

So last week and the week before I have been sick. Not sure what I had?  Went to the doc and he seemed to think it was just allergies…But yeah think it went from a little cold to losing my voice,  so I was a week without a voice. Me? No voice….WHY? I LOVE to talk. So that was interesting. So along with no voice I had a nice sore throat as well and so soup sounded so good to me, so I decided to make homemade tomato soup…another recipe I just went with it and made it as I went…

So this is what I used for my soup, plus I added more stuff that is not in the picture…
DSC_0141-1

I chose these ingredients because I pretty much had most of them already and had to get just a few things at the store…I was trying to make it simple yet delicious!

So you will need:
Olive oil
one yellow onion, chopped
Tomato Bouillon
3 carrots peeled and chopped
Salt & pepper to taste
2 garlic cloves, minced
3 – 28 oz cans of whole tomatoes
Chicken stock, 2 cups
Garlic salt
Red pepper flakes
tomato paste
dried parsley flakes, to taste
fresh basil, chopped
1/2 cup heavy cream

So grab a dutch oven and preheat your burner to medium high heat and coat the bottom of the dutch oven with olive oil
DSC_0143-1

then add in the chopped onions and saute until they are nice and soft and translucent about 10 minutes
DSC_0144-1

so then I had some Tomato bouillon and thought I’d add some of that. Had it why not ya know? (and it’s tomato)
DSC_0149-1

add about a Tablespoon
DSC_0146-1

DSC_0147-1

Mix in with onions. Once the onions are cooked and translucent add in the chopped carrots
DSC_0150-1

Mix in and add in salt and pepper to taste
DSC_0151-1

add in the minced garlic
DSC_0153-1

cook for about a minute. Then add in 3- 28 oz cans of whole tomatoes
DSC_0155-1

DSC_0156-1

DSC_0157-1

DSC_0158-1

Then add in A little more salt and pepper to taste
DSC_0160-1

then add in chicken stock and some Garlic salt and red pepper flakes to taste
DSC_0161-1

then add in can of tomato paste
DSC_0163-1

then get a handy-dandy, hand blender or pour into a regular blender and blend until everything is nice and smooth
DSC_0164-1

then add in some dried parsley flakes to taste
DSC_0166-1

and blend into soup.

Then season with a little more pepper and garlic salt (I wanted mine to taste garlicy)
DSC_0167-1

I also added in about 1/2 cup of heavy cream and I blended it in, cause it helps to make the soup smooth and creamy and Delicious.

Then add in some fresh, chopped basil, to taste
DSC_0168-1

and stir that in
DSC_0169-1

and I let mine simmer for about 30 minutes to let everything heat up and mingle together

then serve.

I served mine with a Jamie BLT sandwich (which I will be posting the recipe for you next).
DSC_0189-1

Untitled

One thought on “Creamy, Tomato, Basil Soup

  1. I have never heard of tomato bouillon! Another thing you’ve taught me! Thanks for your always-so-wonderful inspiration!

Leave a Reply

