New Orleans-Style Shrimp and Rice

Whenever I make anything that is New Orleans or Cajun or Creole it reminds me of my #1 blog friend Lori and my good friend Stacey as that is where those two ladies are from and they have gotten me more into Cajun, Creole style food.

So when I was making this I had those two ladies in mind! So I will dedicate this post to them!

Recipe adapted by http://www.marthastewart.com/

8 tablespoons (1 stick) unsalted butter
1 tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon all-purpose flour
2 green bell peppers, cut lengthwise into 1/4-inch-thick slices
1 large onion, halved lengthwise and cut into 1/4-inch-thick slices
2 celery stalks, cut into 1/2-inch-thick pieces
6 canned whole plum tomatoes (from one 28-ounce can), crushed
1 can (14 1/2 ounces) low-sodium chicken broth
2 teaspoons chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley, plus more for garnish
1 1/2 teaspoons Cajun seasoning (I used two kinds of Cajun seasoning and I was VERY generous with it)
1/2 teaspoon paprika (I used smoked Paprika)
1/2 teaspoon coarse salt
1/2 teaspoon hot sauce, such as Tabasco, or to taste
1 pound large shrimp (21 to 30), peeled and deveined
(I added in some crawfish that Lori sent to me as well)
2 cups cooked white rice, for serving

Melt butter in a large Dutch oven (any dish that starts out with a stick of butter, you know its GOOD)
DSC_0048-1

over medium heat. Add flour,
DSC_0050-1

DSC_0051-1

DSC_0052-1

and stir
DSC_0054-1

until light brown, 3 to 4 minutes. (I will never forget how to make Roux as my friend Stacey gave me the best lesson, basically mix butter and flour and mix the crap out of it until it’s the color of coffee, she probably didn’t use those exact words, but she explained it in Jamie words that made me get it and remember it and laugh). So I give all my Roux making credit to Stacey!

Add bell peppers, onion, and celery;
DSC_0056-1

cook, stirring occasionally, until softened, about 7 minutes. Add tomatoes,
DSC_0057-1

broth,
DSC_0061-1

parsley,
DSC_0063-1

DSC_0064-1

spices,
DSC_0066-1

DSC_0068-1

DSC_0069-1

salt,
DSC_0071-1

DSC_0072-1

and hot sauce.
DSC_0074-1

DSC_0076-1

Bring to a boil; reduce heat, and simmer until vegetables are soft and mixture is slightly thickened, about 30 minutes. Stir in shrimp, (I also added the Crawfish too)

DSC_0077-1

and cook until pink and cooked through, 3 to 5 minutes.
DSC_0079-1

Sprinkle shrimp & Crawfish with parsley, and serve over rice.
DSC_0081-1

DSC_0083-1

DSC_0086-1

Leave a Reply

