Creamy Broccoli Cauliflower Soup

I got the inspiration for this recipe from this blog

DSC_0436-1

2 tablespoons of butter
1 quart chicken broth
1 onion, chopped
1 head cauliflower, chopped into small florets
DSC_0336-1

3 heads broccoli, chopped into small florets
DSC_0337-1

1 tablespoon chicken bouillon cubes
Salt and pepper, to taste
4-5 red potatoes peeled and boiled
1 cup of heavy cream
2 cups shredded Cheddar cheese
DSC_0316-1

In a large pot, melt about 2 tablespoons of butter and add chopped onions
DSC_0358-1

Instead of using flour and milk to thicken my soup I used potatoes and cream like I did in my Beer, Cheese soup recipe

I peel and then boil 4-5 red potatoes until they are nice and fork tender, 30-45 minutes, then drain them and then I blend them in the food processor with chicken broth and cream until very smooth then I add them to the onions and then added the chicken broth

DSC_0361-1

DSC_0363-1

Then I boiled the broccoli and cauliflower separately in a big pot of boiling water and boiled it for about 10 minutes, or fork tender

Then I add the broccoli and cauliflower to the onions, potatoes and chicken broth
DSC_0364-1

then I blended everything together with my hand blender
DSC_0365-1

DSC_0367-1

I added cream while blending to help make it even more smooth
DSC_0368-1

blend until everything is nice and smooth

then I added in salt & fresh ground black pepper
DSC_0370-1

and stir

then Add chicken bouillon

then grate the cheese
DSC_0372-1

and add that to the soup
DSC_0373-1

Stir in Cheddar cheese until completely melted.

DSC_0385-1

simmer soup for about 15-20 minutes so all the cheese is melted and the soup is warmed all the way through
DSC_0386-1

DSC_0394-1

serve in a bowl, nice and hot
DSC_0432-1

DSC_0434-1

I served mine with a BLT Club Sammie

DSC_0427-1

Leave a Reply

