Damn good marinara sauce

Saturday October 13th I had me a little girls night. I invited some girly friends over and told them I would make them a Jamie meal if they would bring the wine! So I made them some pasta with marinara sauce and meat-a-balls and garlic bread, and salad with Normy dressing and tiramisu for dessert. So here is the Recipe that was my inspiration for the Marinara but I changed it up some and instead of adding the meat I made meatballs and here is the original Recipe: Jo Mama’s World Famous Spaghetti (thinking this is going to be my go to marinara sauce).

Here is my recipe

Olive oil
2 red onions, chopped
3 -4 garlic cloves, minced
2 (28 ounce) cans petite dice tomatoes
1 (28 ounce) can purred tomatoes
2 (28 ounce) cans Whole San Marzano tomatoes
1 cup red wine
Freeze dried basil
Italian seasoning
dried parsley flakes
salt
crushed red pepper flakes
2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1 cup of water
1/4 teaspoon fresh ground black pepper
1 lb spaghetti
parmesan cheese
DSC_0544-1

In large, heavy stockpot, coat the bottom of the pan with olive oil add onions
DSC_0546-1

I took a picture of how I took the picture of the onions
Untitled

saute the onions stirring occasionally until they are softened about 10-12 minutes
DSC_0549-1

DSC_0551-1

Add garlic,
DSC_0553-1

and stir and let saute for about a minute
DSC_0554-1

then add in the canned, diced tomatoes
DSC_0557-1

DSC_0558-1

the pured tomatoes
DSC_0560-1

and then the whole peeled, San Marzano tomatoes
DSC_0563-1

DSC_0565-1

DSC_0566-1

Thats a lot of canned tomatoes!
DSC_0568-1

DSC_0569-1

then add the MOST important part of the sauce…

The Wine
I used Cupcake, Red Velevt wine as that is my favorite wine right now
DSC_0573-1

DSC_0574-1

then add in (all on taste)
Freeze dried Basil
DSC_0579-1

Italian seasoning, dried parsley flakes, and Kosher salt
DSC_0581-1

and red pepper flakes
DSC_0586-1

DSC_0588-1

and black pepper to taste

and then about 2 Tablespoons of Balsamic vinegar
DSC_0593-1

DSC_0594-1

then add in 2 tablespoons of light brown sugar
DSC_0596-1

and 1 cup of water
DSC_0602-1

Stir well and barely bring to a boil.

Simmer on low, stirring occsinaly.

I simmered mine for several hours!

Cook spaghetti according to package directions.

Spoon sauce over drained spaghetti noodles add meatballs and sprinkle with parmesan cheese.

I was SO distracted by the time the sauce was done with girl time and wine that I didn’t take a picture of the finished sauce!

But I did take pictures of everyone eating and drinking wine!

Cheers to girls night!
DSC_0615-1

Untitled

DSC_0618-1

Look at all the wine!
Untitled

I also didn’t take pictures of my meatballs for a recipe for you. I just threw the recipe together and they turned out awesome!

and here is my salad and garlic bread too!
DSC_0620-1

the garlic bread was a hit!
DSC_0623-1

heck the whole meal was
DSC_0624-1

 

One thought on “Damn good marinara sauce

Leave a Reply

