Fastest-Ever Enchiladas

When I made this dish I was looking for something fast and good! So I looked online and found this recipe
1 (14-ounce) can diced tomatoes with chiles, drained (Rotel)
1 yellow onion, chopped
2 jalapeno, seeded, deveined, and sliced into strips
1 small can, whole green chiles chopped
1/2 cup finely chopped cilantro leaves
1 lime juiced
1 rotisserie chicken, meat removed and shredded (skin and bones discarded)
2 cups grated Cheddar
6 (8-inch) flour tortillas
1 small can of red enchilada sauce
sour cream
Lettuce
Tomato
DSC_0003-1

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.

this is what I do for my tortillas, I take a plate and take a paper towel and put it in water, then ring it out so its damp and spread it out and lay it on a plate
DSC_0004-1

then I lay a tortilla on top
DSC_0005-1

then I get another paper towel and get it wet and do the same as I explained above
DSC_0006-1

then another tortilla
DSC_0007-1

the paper towel
DSC_0008-1

then tortilla
DSC_0009-1

then finally cover the last tortilla with paper towel
DSC_0010-1

and pop it in the oven (make sure the plate is oven safe) and warm the tortillas in the oven for about 5-7 minutes. This makes them easier to roll. Or if you have a microwave you could pop them in there for 10-20 seconds.

Spray a 9 by 13-inch baking dish with nonstick cooking spray.

To prepare the enchiladas: (this is how I did it, the recipe says differently)

Take the warmed tortillas from the oven and lay one on a plate
DSC_0012-1

and get all your stuff ready to fill it
DSC_0011-1

Spoon about 1 cup of the chicken mixture across the center of each tortilla.
DSC_0013-1

then add some chopped onion
DSC_0014-1

Jalapeno
DSC_0015-1

Green chilis
DSC_0016-1

and a couple of spoonfuls of the rotel
DSC_0017-1

and grated cheese
DSC_0018-1

Roll them up to close
DSC_0019-1

DSC_0020-1

and place, seam side down, in the prepared baking dish.

I had about 5 enchiladas and rolled them all up and placed them in the baking dish

I had extra chicken left over so I threw that on top
DSC_0021-1

I also had extra onion, jalapeno, and rotel so I put that over the top as well
DSC_0023-1

and then poured the enchilada sauce over the enchiladas
DSC_0024-1

DSC_0026-1

Cover with aluminum foil and bake until heated through, about 40 minutes.

Remove the foil and sprinkle the enchiladas with the remaining grated cheese. Return the baking dish to the oven until the cheese is melted and edges of the tortillas are just beginning to get crisp, 5 to 8 minutes. Serve hot.

DSC_0028-1

then plate enchilada
DSC_0037-1

I topped mine with cilantro, lettuce and tomato and sour cream and the juice from the lime…

DSC_0041-1

DSC_0043-1

DSC_0044-1

Leave a Reply

