Bacon Wrapped Roasted Turkey & Happy Thanksgiving 2012

So for Thanksgiving this year we went to my sister in law’s house. Did like a potluck style Thanksgiving where everyone chipped in and made something. Of course when I offer to make stuff I make about 5 things. I can’t just make one thing! ONE thing, HOW BORING! SO I offered to make The turkey, mashed potatoes, pumpkin pie, apple pie and homemade wipped cream for the pumpkin pie.

So I decided I wanted to make a BACON wrapped turkey! #1 I LOVE Bacon, #2 bacon is LOVE! #3 my thinking was as the turkey cooks the grease from the bacon runs down the bird and helps to keep it moist, #4 Bacon Gravy! (which I ended up not making) #5 BACON!
Untitled

The day before I did a brine for our turkey, I used this recipe

Here is Mr. Turkey
DSC_0463-1

Brine!

DSC_0450-1

Our Turkey!
DSC_0466-1

Brine that Bird!

DSC_0469-1

DSC_0471-1

Normy is REALLY excited about brining! (can you tell)
DSC_0473-1

DSC_0475-1

So the morning of Thanksgiving while we watched the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade we had Mimosa’s
Champagne for mimosa

Mimosa

DSC_0579-1

DSC_0580-1

DSC_0582-1

 

had a little accident when we were taking the turkey out of the brine, the liquid kinda went everywhere
DSC_0549-1

then start making your Turkey!

Here’s where I got the Recipe

1 (13 lb) whole turkey (uncooked) (We had almost a 15 pounder)
DSC_0464-1

aluminum foil
2 cups butter (softened)
Butter makes everything better

1 1/2 ounces fresh sage (smells so amazing)
Fresh sage -smells amazing!!!

DSC_0557-1

1 lb bacon (uncooked)
2 onions
5-6 garlic cloves
salt (to taste) pepper (to taste)
DSC_0551-1

Directions:

Pre-heat oven to 325°F

Remove giblets and neck from Turkey. Rinse turkey with cold running water and drain well. Blot dry with paper towels.

Chop Onion and Garlic and mix together.
DSC_0554-1

Once chopped and mixed, stuff the Onion and Garlic mixture into Turkey.
DSC_0555-1

Chop Sage and mix in with softened Butter.
DSC_0558-1

DSC_0560-1

Rub Sage/Butter mixture under the skin and over the skin of the Turkey.
DSC_0562-1

Salt and pepper Turkey to taste.
DSC_0565-1

Place uncooked, Bacon slices all over the skin of the uncooked Turkey. They will stick onto the buttered Turkey.
DSC_0569-1

DSC_0570-1

Bacon and butter turkey

DSC_0568-1

DSC_0573-1

Place Turkey in a roasting pan and use Foil to tent the uncooked Turkey.

Remove foil tent for last hour of cooking Turkey.

Continue to let bacon cook on Turkey for an additional 15 minutes, then remove. (OPTIONAL – Bacon can then be chopped and placed in a separate dish of your choice).

Remove Turkey from oven once 160 degrees is reached internally in the Turkey.

(I waited until the thingy on the turkey popped to know if it was done and they say 15-20 minutes per pound to cook your turkey)

Allow Turkey to rest for 20-30 minutes, then carve (during the rest period, Turkey will continue to cook to 165 degrees).
DSC_0664-1

The turkey was so MOIST!
DSC_0675-1

DSC_0677-1

So I was having too much fun having my mimosa that time got away from me, So as it got closer to time to leave I ran out of time to do everything I needed to do, so I had Norman help me with the potatoes…He used this Recipe
DSC_0589-1

I requested Crescent rolls because well they were always tradition at my grandma’s house when I was a kid and I LOVE them, if only Jim and Evelyn could open them!
DSC_0653-1

I hate when that can pops, scares me EVERY time!

MMMMMM
DSC_0654-1

My mother in law and sister-in-law cooking away in the kitchen
DSC_0657-1

My sister-in-law makes these bacon wrapped smokies and they are THE BOMB! SOOOOO GOOD! Here is that recipe for you too!Smokies

DSC_0661-1

DSC_0658-1

DSC_0660-1

DSC_0663-1

My Hubby – I loves him!
DSC_0668-1

So with Normy’s Family, each year at Thanksgiving before we all sit down to eat we go around the table and say what we are Thankful for, so I made a list:
I am thankful for:

my Norman, friends, family, nieces and nephews, my camera, laughter, food, cooking, good health, the sun, music, my bed, sleep, bacon, wine, to vote, to have fun, doctors, compliments, shelter, having love, San Marzano tomatoes, my le creuset, Pinterest, sunflowers, butter, fresh ingredients, the gym, to have a job, to be an aunt/titi, to be humble, cupcakes, the mountains, to not be shopping on black Friday, lotion, Chapstick, garlic, our couch brownie, whole foods, sushi, baking, green lights, ladybugs, birth control, independence, the two words thank you, thank you cards, my blog, pictures, Friday, the weekend, windex, paper towels, DVR, Sunday’s with no football, the color red, coffee, for a home, thankful for life!!!

Let’s EAT!

Look at the spread
DSC_0692-1

My plate – I like salad and a LOT Of dressing (can you tell) MMMMMM RANCH!
DSC_0696-1

The sunset that evening.
Sunset

Cleaning up!
DSC_0697-1

But really Thanksgiving is about the sales for Black Friday right? HA!

DSC_0733-1

DSC_0738-1

DSC_0736-1

DSC_0685-1

Happy Thanksgiving!
DSC_0669-1

 

here’s that recipe for you again:

1 (13 lb) whole turkey (uncooked)
aluminum foil
2 cups butter (softened)
1 1/2 ounces fresh sage
1 lb bacon (uncooked)
2 onion
5-6 garlic cloves
salt (to taste)
pepper (to taste) Directions:
Pre-heat oven to 325°F

Remove giblets and neck from Turkey. Rinse turkey with cold running water and drain well. Blot dry with paper towels.

Chop Onion and Garlic and mix together. Once chopped and mixed, stuff the Onion and Garlic mixture into Turkey.

Chop Sage and mix in with softened Butter.

Rub Sage/Butter mixture under the skin and over the skin of the Turkey.

Salt and pepper Turkey to taste.

Place uncooked, Bacon slices all over the skin of the uncooked Turkey. They will stick onto the buttered Turkey.

Place Turkey in a roasting pan and use Foil to tent the uncooked Turkey.

Remove foil tent for last hour of cooking Turkey.

Continue to let bacon cook on Turkey for an additional 15 minutes, then remove. (OPTIONAL – Bacon can then be chopped and placed in a separate dish of your choice).

Remove Turkey from oven once 160 degrees is reached internally in the Turkey.

Allow Turkey to rest for 20-30 minutes, then carve (during the rest period, Turkey will continue to cook to 165 degrees).

4 thoughts on “Bacon Wrapped Roasted Turkey & Happy Thanksgiving 2012

  1. I love your site, I have made many of your recipes and love them all so far, thanks for the uploads and the great step by step recipe with pictures. Keep up the good work, look forward to seeing more. 🙂

Leave a Reply

