Extra Crispy Spicy Fried Chicken & Christmas

How Christmas works for us is we spend Christmas Eve with Normy’s family and then Christmas Day with friends. Before Normy and I were married I used to make my parents and bro dinner on Christmas Eve and that was always a tradition. But things change, and you get married and you have to go to more family things. So this year I wanted to continue my tradition that I have done in the past and I wanted to do dinner with my parents. We were going to go out to dinner. But then I was looking on Pinterest (damn it) and I found this recipe for extra crispy fried chicken and so I called my mom and was like hey mom how about I cook instead! We had decided to go out to eat to make less work for me. But come ON! I love being overwhelmed with tons to do! Especially cooking! And who wants to eat out? Not me! I like cooking my own food because I like HOMEMADE!  So I suggested instead of me cooking it all, we all chip in! My mom offered to make her potatoes salad and then my bro could make baked beans (ewwww) and then I could make the chicken and dessert. A southern style dinner! Not the healthiest, but (in my opinion) you’re supposed to be bad around the holidays! Oh and add in fried okra! Gotta have that! YUM! If you don’t already feel fat and bloated from the fried chicken add in some FRIED okra! MMMMMMMM

So whenever I make fried chicken I soak mine in buttermilk over night and I always add in Cajun seasoning. It just makes the fried chicken THAT much better! Then when you are ready to cook it drain the buttermilk

Here’s the recipe I used for the chicken
DSC_0188-1

So I slacked on the process of how the chicken was made because Normy cooked it and I was having fun talking with my family and opening presents!
DSC_0191-1

My mom and dad outdid themselves on gifts! appreciate it very much! Was nice, and a total surprise!

3 eggs
1/3 cup water
1 cup hot red pepper sauce (I like Louisiana Hot Sauce)
4 cups flour
2 teaspoon pepper
2 teaspoon paprika
3 teaspoons cayenne pepper
1 quart buttermilk (optional)
Salt, Pepper, and Garlic Powder (to taste)
1 (1 to 2 1/2-pound) chicken, cut into pieces (I used drumsticks and thighs)
Peanut Oil, for frying

1. Place cut-up chicken in a large bowl, and cover with buttermilk. Cover and chill for two hours, or overnight. This is an optional (but recommended) step.

2. In a large bowl, add eggs, water, and red pepper sauce. Whisk until combined.

3. In a large gallon freezer bag, mix flour, pepper, paprika, and cayenne.

4. Remove chicken from buttermilk (if marinated) and sprinkle lightly with salt, pepper, and garlic powder.

5. Place all chicken pieces in freezer bag with flour mixture.
DSC_0219-1

Shake until all pieces are evenly coated.

6. Remove chicken pieces one at a time, shaking excess flour. Dip each piece in the egg mixture,
and return to bag of flour. After all pieces have been dipped in the egg mixture and put back in the bag, give it a second shake to coat chicken pieces again.
DSC_0234-1

DSC_0237-1

7. Heat oil in deep fryer or deep pan to 350 degrees. Working in batches, drop each piece of chicken into the hot oil.
DSC_0212-1

DSC_0215-1

DSC_0218-1

DSC_0233-1

Fry for 15-18 minutes, or until golden brown, turning occasionally if oil does not completely cover chicken.
DSC_0238-1

DSC_0239-1
Keep in mind that dark meat chicken takes longer to cook than white meat. Watch your wing segments, as well; these will finish cooking first.

DSC_0286-1

DSC_0292-1

We drained the chicken on a plate lined with paper towels to drain the excess grease.
DSC_0251-1

MMMM now for the fried okra! We did the frozen kind. If it was summer I would have gone to the farmers market and got fresh okra. But it’s winter and well we had to do frozen!
DSC_0285-1

DSC_0291-1

Mom’s Potato salad, it’s the best!
DSC_0293-1

Dinner is served!
DSC_0294-1

Check out what my mom and dad got Normy!
DSC_0231-1

A Smoker! I am SOOOOOO looking forward to smoked meat and recipes and pictures of smoked MEAT! YUM!

My Normy, My Dad, My Bro and My mom! I loves them all!
DSC_0232-1

My turn!
DSC_0242-1

my mom has these dishes that I love, and I wanted hers! So she got me some of my own!
DSC_0246-1

DSC_0249-1

a little something we got my mom and dad
DSC_0299-1

and this was the best part! look at what my bro Made me!
DSC_0334-1

DSC_0335-1

I LOVE Ladybugs and I LOVE that he made this for me!

My family!
DSC_0340-1

Couldn’t leave Normy out of the picture!
DSC_0343-1

This one is great! Normy always wants Tang! I don’t know why? But he loves it and always says to me he wants Tang, guess my mom got the memo:
DSC_0198-1

DSC_0199-1

2 thoughts on “Extra Crispy Spicy Fried Chicken & Christmas

Leave a Reply

