Grandma Marie O’Day Special Cookies

These cookies are a pain in the ass! Excuse the language (but not really I am a person that likes to cuss). But they are! I have only made them one other time and every time I make them I get mad and frustrated and cuss A LOT! The dough is the hardest dough to work with! When I made these cookies this time, I stayed up till 1AM in the morning until I made them right! and even then they still weren’t perfect!

My Grandma made these every Christmas when I was a youngin and mine looked NOTHING like hers! She’s had years of experience making them! I decided that I will make them every Christmas until I get them like hers!

A couple of notes – When working with this dough leave the dough that you will not use in the fridge as it basically starts getting warm the minute you start working with it! Melts in your hands! (all that shortening). and only work with a little cough at the time, I would say about a handful.

Normally I will not use shortening because well its nasty! But I will make an exception with this recipe. Once a year won’t kill you? (let’s hope not huh).

Something else I learned while making and cussing at these! When working with the dough it says to “Dust board with granulated sugar” I recommend dusting the board and rolling-pin and then the dough you are about to  roll out with sugar and flour and be VERY generous! This dough sticks and rips SOOOOO easy, so be VERY generous!

So here we go! Let’s make these cookies!

Sour Cream Cold Dough:
1 sm. Cake Yeast
1/4 c. warm water
1 c. sour cream
4 eggs
1 lb shortening (16 oz)
Approx 4 c. flour
DSC_0002-1

Dissolve yeast in warm water
DSC_0005-1

DSC_0007-1

Add to Sour Cream
DSC_0015-1

DSC_0016-1

DSC_0018-1

Add eggs,
DSC_0019-1

DSC_0020-1

DSC_0021-1

mix well.

cut shortening into flour
DSC_0009-1

DSC_0010-1

DSC_0011-1

DSC_0013-1

DSC_0014-1

when well blended, add cream mixture.
DSC_0022-1

DSC_0023-1

Add flour to make soft dough. Chill overnight.

Walnut Filling:(I used pecans) (Also this needs to be refrigerated over night as well and that wasn’t in the recipe) so after making the dough, make the filling and refrigerate both over night.
1 lb. ground nuts (I used Pecans)
DSC_0134-1

(I had Normy help me chop the nuts)
DSC_0136-1

DSC_0137-1

DSC_0138-1

1/2 cup sugar
DSC_0139-1

1 egg white
DSC_0141-1

1/2 t. vanilla
DSC_0142-1

DSC_0133-1

DSC_0143-1

Mix together

another filling you could make:
Apricot filling:
1/2 lb. dried apricots, finely chopped
1 c. sugar
1 c. water
Combine and cook slowly om low heat, add more water if necessary.

(I made the Nut filling one and I use pecans as Walnuts give me fat lips haha I have a little bit of an allergy to them, so I use Pecans and I have never made the Apricot filling before)

Dust board with granulated sugar.
Roll out thin, a little at a time.
DSC_0145-1

DSC_0146-1

Cut into squares (3# square) Place filling from corner to corner. Roll up and shape into crescents
DSC_0359-1

DSC_0366-1

also something else I learned the cookie should be a two bite size cookie.
DSC_0367-1

Place cookies on greased cookie sheet. Let Raise for 10 minutes.
DSC_0368-1

DSC_0369-1

Bake in 350 degree oven till light brown, 18 minutes. Roll in powdered sugar and allow to cool.
DSC_0371-1

I should have had 2-3 plates full of these, But I had such a hard time and they didn’t turn out. I only had one plate full. (Hey better than nothing).

But they are worth the trouble and fighting and cussing! As they are SO GOOD!
DSC_0372-1

I will just keep making them every year and eventually I will get them perfect and more than one plate full!
DSC_0372

Leave a Reply

