Kielbasa with Cajun flavored peppers and onions

Got the idea for this recipe from here but since we don’t have a grill thought I would skip the skewers part and just saute the sausage, peppers and onions in a cast iron skillet instead…

I made this recipe for 6, asNormy and I have a new roommate! My cousin Jenn is staying with us for a couple of months for school so I have me another person to cook for! I do 6 servings so we all have some for dinner and then for lunch the next day!

Jenn is not a fan of onions! She likes the flavor of onions she just doesn’t like the texture, So I felt this dish would be fine cause the onions were big enough and she could pick them out! BUT she told me she liked them in this dish! She said they were really good! I was like SEE onions are GOOD! I am determined to get her to like them!

So for this recipe you will need:

2 packages of Kielbasa – (I like Hillshire Farm Polska Kielbasa) Sliced into big chunks
2 red onions, sliced
2 yellow onions, sliced
2 red bell peppers, chopped into big bit size pieces
2 yellow bell peppers, chopped into big bit size pieces
2 green bell peppers, chopped into big bit size pieces

So I took a picture the 1st time of what you need and got this
DSC_0120-1

No! there is not a side of Normy in this dish! HA! Normy move your big dome!

So this is the picture I wanted
DSC_0123-1

So get to chopping and chop everything up into bite size pieces like so…
DSC_0126-1

I used my cast iron skillet for this dish. So I grabbed my big cast iron and coated the bottom with a little olive oil and heated it to medium high heat and threw the onions in…sizzle sizzle
DSC_0129-1

and then sprinkled a little Creole/Cajun seasoning over the onions
DSC_0132-1

Creole/Cajun Seasoning makes EVERYTHING BETTER!
DSC_0133-1

saute the onions until they get a nice caramelization or translucent. I cooked mine until there was a little brownness on the edges and they were still a little crunchy. Took about 10-12 minutes
DSC_0139-1

then add in the red bell peppers
DSC_0142-1

then I added in a little kosher salt

then add in the green bell peppers
DSC_0143-1

then I sprinkled the creole/cajun seasoning over those and then added the yellow bell peppers
DSC_0146-1

stir everything together
DSC_0148-1

saute for about 10 minutes stirring often, adding in more creole/cajun seasonings
DSC_0151-1

so pretty and colorful!
DSC_0153-1

So while the peppers are cooking get another skillet and preheat that to medium high heat and add in the Kielbasa
DSC_0154-1

and cook for 10-12 minutes get a nice color on those pieces
DSC_0158-1

see that color, that color is LOVE!
DSC_0162-1

to serve, just take desired amount of sausage and LOTS of peppers and onions and eat!
DSC_0177-1

DSC_0182-1

DSC_0187-1

One thought on “Kielbasa with Cajun flavored peppers and onions

Leave a Reply

