Normy Balls with Jamie Marinara Sauce

So I just made these meat-a-balls up!

I had made some marinara sauce (this recipe) and I didn’t want to do sausage links or ground meat in the sauce so I decided on balls!

So this is what I came up with for my balls! (but really I made them so I could refer to them as BALLS throughout this whole post!)

So you will need:

Olive oil
1/2 red onion, chopped
2 cloves of garlic, minced
freeze-dried basil
freeze-dried parsley
freeze-dried oregano
2 eggs
seasoned bread crumbs
parmesan cheese
ground beef
DSC_0017-1

ground italian sausage
DSC_0018-1

garlic salt
Dried thyme
onion Salt
Salt
freshly ground black pepper
DSC_0001-1

I started by smashing and chopping and then mincing the garlic cloves
DSC_0004-1

then chopped up 1/2 a red onion
DSC_0005-1

Preheat a small skillet to medium heat and coat the bottom with olive oil
DSC_0010-1

throw the chopped onions in the pan
DSC_0014-1

and saute for about 5-7 minutes (or until they are translucent)

while the onions cook away get a big bowl and add in the beef and sausage
DSC_0021-1

add in seasoned bread crumbs, about a cup

Then add in eggs. (I add my eggs to a separate bowl, incase I get shell in the bowl, or there is a bad egg)
DSC_0025-1

DSC_0027-1

then add in about a tablespoon of freeze dried basil
DSC_0029-1

Then add in about a tablespoon of freeze-dried oregano
DSC_0031-1

There is also a tablespoon of freeze-dried parsley in there too

DSC_0032-1

then add in about a 1/2 a tablespoon of garlic salt
DSC_0033-1

Then go back to the onions and add the garlic and saute and stir some until you smell the garlic really well
DSC_0038-1

DSC_0044-1

Cook for about a minute and then add to the bowl with the meat
DSC_0046-1

Then add in the
Dried thyme
onion Salt
Salt
freshly ground black pepper

to taste
DSC_0048-1

Then add in about 1/2 cup of freshly grated parmesan cheese
DSC_0051-1

Then I had Normy help me with this part and he mixed everything together with his hands (a cooks best tools for mixing)
DSC_0053-1

DSC_0055-1

 

Combine everything really well!

DSC_0059-1

Then roll the meat mixture into meat-a-balls
DSC_0061-1

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees while you roll the balls

Normy is really good and making balls! Don’t you think?
DSC_0062-1

Check out Normy’s ball!
DSC_0063-1

Place the rolled balls on a baking sheet
DSC_0067-1

DSC_0068-1

Just keep rolling until you use all the meat mixture
DSC_0072-1

DSC_0076-1

Those are some NICE looking balls!
DSC_0080-1

DSC_0082-1

Then once you rolled all your balls, place them in the oven and cook them for about 10-15 minutes then turn them and cook the other side for another 10-15 minutes
DSC_0088-1

DSC_0089-1

Them are some NICE looking balls! I just want to pop one in my mouth! mmmmm
DSC_0093-1

So I pulled the balls out of the oven and placed them in the marinara sauce I made earlier and let them cook a little longer in the sauce
DSC_0100-1

DSC_0103-1

DSC_0104-1

I cooked the balls for about 10 minutes in the sauce

Then grabbed a bowl and added some whole wheat pasta and topped with a ball and some sauce and parmesan cheese
DSC_0118-1

and eat!

Delicious!

Leave a Reply

